Kondo & Kezumi Visit Giant Island (Hardcover)

By David Goodner, Andrea Tsurumi (Illustrator)

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, 9781368025775, 80pp.

Publication Date: October 27, 2020

List Price: 15.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

This full-color chapter book series for fans of Mercy Watson and Ivy & Bean about best friends Kondo & Kezumi who find a map that leads to adventure, new friends, and the wonders of the unknown.

Kondo is big. Kezumi is little. They lived on an island with fruit trees and berry bushes and flitter-birds and fluffle-bunnies. When a surprise bottle washes ashore, they discover a map with a mysterious message: WE ARE NOT ALONE. Kezumi wants to follow the map and explore the world. Kondo wants to stay home and pick fruit from the fruit tree and berries from the berry bushes. But once Kezumi builds the perfect boat, the best friends set sail together to see...well, they don't know!

So begin the adventures of Kondo and Kezumi, where islands of cheese and giant mountains await. Rising stars David Goodner and Andrea Tsurumi team up for this chapter book series filled with charming quirks and unexpected discoveries. Get ready to set foot on uncharted territory with classic themes of friendship, community, and exploration.

Kondo & Kezumi Reach Bell Bottom washes ashore in January 2021!


About the Author

David Goodner has worked at the Arlington Public Library for the last twenty-one years and counting. He is the author of Ginny Goblin Is Not Allowed To Open This Box, and its follow-up, Ginny Goblin Is Not Allowed To Have A Monster For A Pet. He lives in North Texas with his wife and two uncommonly pleasant cats.

Andrea Tsurumi is the author and illustrator of Accident! and Crab Cake, as well as numerous comics. She illustrated Not Your Nest by Gideon Stere and Girls Who Code by Reshma Saujani. She was born and raised in New York, where she got an MFA from the School of Visual Arts, and she now lives in Philadelphia with her spouse and their dog. When she's not inventing croissant-based animals, she likes reading about ordinary and ridiculous history.


Praise For Kondo & Kezumi Visit Giant Island

*"The personal relationships, various environments, and building projects provide multiple points of engagement to keep new readers motivated."—Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Recommended for readers who are transitioning to chapter books and who are fans of animated adventure television shows."—School Library Journal

"Goodner and Tsurumi's brightly illustrated chapter book should find favor with fans of Kate DiCamillo and Chris Van Dusen's similarly designed Mercy Watson series... A story of friendship that is both lively and lovely."—Kirkus Reviews