Four Queens (Compact Disc)

The Provencal Sisters Who Ruled Europe

By Nancy Goldstone, Josephine Bailey (Narrated by)

Tantor Audio, 9781400103843

Publication Date: May 7, 2007

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (5/6/2007)
Paperback (2/26/2008)
Hardcover (5/1/2007)
MP3 CD (5/7/2007)
Compact Disc (5/7/2007)
Pre-Recorded Audio Player (4/1/2009)

List Price: 34.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Set against the backdrop of the turbulent thirteenth century, a time of chivalry and crusades, poetry, knights, and monarchs comes the story of the four beautiful daughters of the count of Provence whose brilliant marriages made them the queens of France, England, Germany, and Sicily. From a cultured childhood in Provence, each sister was propelled into a world marked by shifting alliances, intrigue, and subterfuge. Marguerite, the eldest, whose resolution and spirit would be tested by the cold splendor of the Palais du Roi in Paris; Eleanor, whose soaring political aspirations would provoke her kingdom to civil war; Sanchia, the neglected wife of the richest man in England who bought himself the crown of Germany; and Beatrice, whose desire for sovereignty was so acute that she risked her life to earn her place at the royal table. A compulsively readable narrative, Four Queens shatters the myth that women were helpless pawns in a society that celebrated physical prowess and masculine intellect. A riveting historical saga for fans of Alison Weir and Antonia Fraser.


About the Author

Nancy Goldstone is coauthor, with her husband, Lawrence, of five books, including "Out of the Flames," "The Friar and the Cipher," and "Warmly Inscribed."

British actress and narrator Josephine Bailey has won ten "AudioFile" Earphones Awards and a prestigious Audie Award, and "Publishers Weekly" named her Best Female Narrator in 2002.


Praise For Four Queens: The Provencal Sisters Who Ruled Europe

"Narrator Josephine Bailey adds a note of refined elegance with her clear and clipped British accent while expertly pronouncing the often complicated and obscure names." ---AudioFile