Skip to main content
Cover for Closing Time

Closing Time

A Memoir

Joe Queenan, Johnny Heller (Narrated by)

MP3 CD

List Price: 24.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (6/15/2009)
Compact Disc (6/16/2009)
MP3 CD (6/16/2009)
Paperback (3/30/2010)
Hardcover (4/16/2009)
Compact Disc (6/1/2009)
Compact Disc (6/1/2009)

Description

Joe Queenan's acerbic riffs on movies, sports, books, politics, and many of the least forgivable phenomena of pop culture have made him one of the most popular humorists and commentators of our time. In Closing Time, Queenan turns his sights on a more serious and personal topic: his childhood in a Philadelphia housing project in the early 1960s. By turns hilarious and heartbreaking, Closing Time recounts Queenan's Irish Catholic upbringing in a family dominated by his erratic father, a violent yet oddly charming emotional terrorist whose alcoholism fuels a limitless torrent of self-pity, railing, destruction, and late-night chats with the Lord Himself. With the help of a series of mentors and surrogate fathers, and armed with his own furious love of books and music, Joe begins the long flight away from the dismal confines of his neighborhood-with a brief misbegotten stop at a seminary-and into the wider world. Queenan's unforgettable account of the damage done to children by parents without futures and of the grace children find to move beyond these experiences will appeal to fans of Augusten Burroughs and Mary Karr, and will take its place as an autobiography in the classic American tradition.


Praise For Closing Time: A Memoir

"An ambitious memoir.... Optimally engrossing, thanks to Queenan's gift for storytelling and acidic humor." ---The Philadelphia Inquirer

Tantor Audio, 9781400162161

Publication Date: June 1, 2009



About the Author

Joe Queenan is the author of nine books, including "Confessions of a Cineplex Heckler" and "If You're Talking to Me, Your Career Must Be in Trouble," as well as a regular contributor to the "New York Times."

Johnny Heller has narrated some five hundred books and garnered a bunch of swell awards and accolades, including "Publishers Weekly" Listen-Up Awards, Audie Awards and nominations, "AudioFile" Earphones Awards, and selection as one of "AudioFile" magazine's Top 50 Narrators of the 20th Century.