Skip to main content


Closing Time (Digital Audiobook)

A Memoir

By Joe Queenan, Johnny Heller (Narrator)

Publication Date: June 15, 2009

Other Editions of This Title:
Compact Disc (6/16/2009)
MP3 CD (6/16/2009)
Paperback (3/30/2010)
Hardcover (4/16/2009)
Compact Disc (6/1/2009)
Compact Disc (6/1/2009)
MP3 CD (6/1/2009)

Description

Joe Queenan's acerbic riffs on movies, sports, books, politics, and many of the least forgivable phenomena of pop culture have made him one of the most popular humorists and commentators of our time. In Closing Time, Queenan turns his sights on a more serious and personal topic: his childhood in a Philadelphia housing project in the early 1960s. By turns hilarious and heartbreaking, Closing Time recounts Queenan's Irish Catholic upbringing in a family dominated by his erratic father, a violent yet oddly charming emotional terrorist whose alcoholism fuels a limitless torrent of self-pity, railing, destruction, and late-night chats with the Lord Himself. With the help of a series of mentors and surrogate fathers, and armed with his own furious love of books and music, Joe begins the long flight away from the dismal confines of his neighborhood—with a brief misbegotten stop at a seminary—and into the wider world. Queenan's unforgettable account of the damage done to children by parents without futures and of the grace children find to move beyond these experiences will appeal to fans of Augusten Burroughs and Mary Karr, and will take its place as an autobiography in the classic American tradition.


About the Author

Johnny Heller is praised for his adult, noir/mystery, personal development, history, comedy, and children's book narrations. He has narrated some five hundred books and garnered a bunch of swell awards and accolades: He is a 2008, 2009, and 2011 "Best Audio Book" winner; a Publishers Weekly Listen-Up Award winner from 2008 through 2013; a 2014 Audie Award nominee for Solo Narration (Male); a 2005 and 2009 Audie Award winner; a double Audie nominee in 2012; one of AudioFile magazine's Top Fifty Narrators of the Twentieth Century; and a multiple AudioFile Earphones Award winner.