The Pilgrim (Hardcover)

By Hugh Nissenson

Sourcebooks Landmark, 9781402209246, 368pp.

Publication Date: November 1, 2011

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (11/1/2012)

List Price: 24.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

December 2011 Indie Next List

“The reader is transported back to the earliest days of the settling of America by the sworn statement of one Charles Wentworth, who came to Plymouth soon after the Mayflower landing. The powerful influence of religion and the church is portrayed through his struggles with both his humanity and his faith, as Charles mourns the tragic loss of his betrothed while at the same time reveling in the death of the 'savages' who must be conquered to create a safe new home. This is a great work of historical fiction”
— Carol K., Anderson's Bookshop, Naperville, IL
View the List


"Nissenson, acclaimed for his powerful narratives (The Days of Awe; The Tree of Life), here shows the tight grip of religious devotion on one young man's mind ... History, politics, faith, and daily life all come together in a strong story."
Library Journal
Praise for High Nissenson's The Days of Awe:
"I just finished The Days of Awe. I am too moved to move. (Even this pen.) An amazing novel. It is as if we are eavesdropping on life."
Cynthia Ozick
"If you believe the best novels should be transformative, should rip the dusty curtains from our everyday vision; if you don't mind being terrorized by a narrative, then you'll be looking at a different world when you finish these pages."
Carolyn See, Washington Post
"A deep affirmation of life in all its mystery and agony and joy."
Frederick M. Dolan, author of Allegories of America
"Nissenson's haunting, deeply moral novel asks the largest questions, and with tough lyric elegance, illuminates the smallest moments. The Days of Awe is a Great Awakening elegy for all our lives even as we live them."
Johanna Kaplan, author of 0 My America
"A Masterpiece "
Amos Elon, author of The Pity of It All

About the Author

Hugh Nissenson is the author of eight books, including The Days of Awe. His novel The Tree of Life was a finalist for the National Book Award and the PEN-Faulkner Award in 1985. He lives in New York City.