Duplicate Death (Country House Mysteries #11) (Paperback)

By Georgette Heyer

Sourcebooks Landmark, 9781402218040, 352pp.

Publication Date: April 1, 2010

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (5/7/2019)
Compact Disc (1/15/2015)
MP3 CD (1/15/2015)
Compact Disc (1/15/2015)
Pre-Recorded Audio Player (6/1/2015)

List Price: 13.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Double the murder means double the stakes in this Golden Age mystery from Georgette Heyer

Inspector Hemingway has his work cut out for him when a seemingly civilized game of Duplicate Bridge leads to a double murder. The crimes seem identical, but were they carried out by the same hand? Things become even more complicated when the fianc e of the inspector's young friend Timothy Kane becomes Hemingway's prime suspect. Kane is determined to prove the lady's innocence--but when he begins digging into her past, he finds it's more than a little bit shady...

Classic country house mystery, perfect for readers of Agatha Christie and Dorothy L. Sayers

"Ranks alongside such incomparable whodunit authors as Christie, Marsh, Tey, and Allingham." --San Francisco Chronicle

"The wittiest of detective story writers."--Daily Mail



About the Author

The late Georgette Heyer was a very private woman. Her historical novels have charmed and delighted millions of readers for decades, though she rarely reached out to the public to discuss her works or private life. It is known that she was born in Wimbledon in August 1902, and her first novel, The Black Moth, was published in 1921. Heyer published 56 books over the next 53 years, until her death from lung cancer in 1974. Heyer's large volume of works included Regency romances, mysteries and historical fiction. Known also as the Queen of Regency romance, Heyer was legendary for her research, historical accuracy and her extraordinary plots and characterizations. Her last book, My Lord John, was published posthumously in 1975. She was married to George Ronald Rougier, a mining engineer, and they had one son together, Richard.