Skip to main content
Cover for Stupid Fast (Felton Reinstein trilogy)

Stupid Fast (Felton Reinstein trilogy)

Geoff Herbach

Paperback

List Price: 10.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults * YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults * 2011 Cybils Award Winner, Young Adult Fiction * Junior Library Guild Selection * ABA Best Books

A moving yet hilarious coming-of-age teen comedy about a reluctant athlete just trying to make it through high school, perfect for fans of John Green.

I AM NOT STUPID FUNNY.

I AM STUPID FAST.

My name is Felton Reinstein, which is not a fast name. But last November, my voice finally dropped and I grew all this hair and then I got stupid fast. Fast like a donkey. Zing!

Now they want me, the guy they used to call Squirrel Nut, to try out for the football team. With the jocks. But will that fix my mom? Make my brother stop dressing like a pirate? Most important, will it get me girls—especially Aleah?

So I train. And I run. And I sneak off to Aleah's house in the night. But deep down I know I can't run forever. And I wonder what will happen when I finally have to stop.

Perfect for readers looking for:

  • teen sports books
  • a bullying book to spark conversations
  • books for teenage boys 14-16

Also in this series:

Nothing Special (Book 2)

I'm With Stupid (Book 3)

Praise for Stupid Fast:

"Whip-smart and painfully self-aware, "Stupid Fast" is a funny and agonizing glimpse into the teenage brain. . . .In that gap between being big and being grown-up lies a lot of the best young-adult fiction, including Geoff Herbach's painfully funny debut, "Stupid Fast."—The Star Tribune

"Reading Felton's thoughts, feelings, fears, and frustrations are sometimes funny as well as touching, revealing his gentle and sensitive side amidst the stupid. This title provides a great read for all teen and adult readers. I loved this!"—Library Media Connection, *STARRED REVIEW*

"A rare mix of raw honesty and hilarity. Stupid Fast is Stupid Good!" —Peter Bognanni, author of The House of Tomorrow



Praise For Stupid Fast (Felton Reinstein trilogy)

"...one of my freshmen boys asked to read my ARC. I had to say yes because he’s one of my reluctant readers. He isn’t reluctant anymore! He tore through this book and was so proud when he gave it back to me; he finished the book and wanted to read another. As a teacher or librarian, does it get any better than that?!

If you want to read something fantastically funny, pick up Stupid Fast. If you want to read something honest and refreshing, pick up Stupid Fast. I can’t recommend this debut novel enough. Geoff Herbach has really impressed me and I CAN’T WAIT to read more of his work!" — YA Love

" In this struggling and often clueless teen, Herbach has created an endearing character coming to terms with his past and present in a small, well-defined Wisconsin town." — Booklist

" Herback is at this peak limning the confusion and frustration of a young man who no longer recognizes his own body, and Felton’s self-deprecation take on his newly awarded A-list status is funny and compelling." — The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

"This story has a little bit of everything: the challenges of growing up, the issues surrounding interracial romance, navigating tough class issues, and a narrator who is one of the most real, honest, and still funny male voices to come around in a while." — Yalsa

"STUPID FAST is a great addition to a genre that is lacking in stories based around a main male teenage character." — An Avid Reader’s Musings

"Geoff Herbach does a nice job of getting into Felton’s mind and presenting his thoughts in a realistic tone." — Reading Vacation

"Felton Reinstein is one of my favorite male protagonists of the year." — Happy Nappy Bookseller

"Stupid Fast is Geoff's debut novel and I can say this is the most pleasant surprise so far this year!" — Cari’s Book Blog

"I fully admit that I devoured this book in one complete sitting. The mixture of serious emotions, life changing discoveries, and all out humor, made Stupid Fast a book that I simply couldn't set down." — Hopelessly Devoted Bibliophile

"Delving straight into the teenage boy mind and hitting on topics both funny and hefty, Stupid Fast hits right into the struggles of a teenage guy from first love to finding himself to dealing with a quirky family in a great way. With a main character that truly is "average," a jerk at times and a total sweetheart at others, confused and awkward but then confidant and sure, this one is engaging and real. Through rambling in voice at times, and most definitely very boy in a way that could be a turn off to some female readers, the story is well written and well developed, providing a solid debut." — A Good Addiction

"In the end Fenton’s sarcasm, anxiety, self-doubt, thoughtfulness, and compassion carry the day and perfectly capture the voice of his generation." — School Library Journal

"Reading Felton’s thoughts, feelings, fears, and frustrations are sometimes funny as well as touching, revealing his gentle and sensitive side amidst the stupid. This title provides a great read for all teen and adult readers. I loved this! It almost moved me to tears as it provides insight into the mind of an adolescent." — Library Media Connection (starred review)

"I really liked the elements in this book. A broken home, a main character growing up faster than he ever thought he would. So much goes on in the book that it is hard to not stop reading. A great, young, fresh voice, Felton is the American boy dealing with an average American life. Nothing is perfect but of course he is Stupid Fast." — Books With Bite

"So, without giving anything away, I'll just say: it has a great character voice, Pete Hautmanesque story-telling, and a deft recognition of human complexity." — Daughter Number Three

"Whip-smart and painfully self-aware, "Stupid Fast" is a funny and agonizing glimpse into the teenage brain. . . .In that gap between being big and being grown-up lies a lot of the best young-adult fiction, including Geoff Herbach's painfully funny debut, "Stupid Fast."Young readers looking for a genuinely memorable first-person narrator -- in the vein of Sherman Alexie's "Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian" or Pete Hautman's "Godless" —- should really catch up to "Stupid Fast" this summer." — The Star Tribune

"This is what I call a "smart guy-book". When you guys are ready to move away from fantasy into realistic fiction about teenage guy issues, Stupid Fast is one of the books you will have to turn to." — Beyond The Middle

"...a book with a lot of heart."- Blogger Audrey, Bibliosaurustext" — Bibliosaurustext

"a novel that will give much food for thought." Blogger Dr.L, LS 5385 Blog" — LS 5385 Blog

Sourcebooks Fire, 9781402256301, 320pp.

Publication Date: June 1, 2011



About the Author

Wee Wisconsin boy, Geoff Herbach wanted to play for the Green Bay Packers or join The Three Stooges. His tight hamstrings left him only writing. Now he writes YA novels, including the award-winning Stupid Fast series, and teaches at Minnesota State, Mankato where he blows his students' minds with tales of football and comedy glory, none of which are true. Visit www.geoffherbach.com for more information about the author, his books, and much more.