Tales from Schwartzgarten 1 (Paperback)

Osbert the Avenger

By Christopher William Hill

Orchard Books, 9781408314555, 356pp.

Publication Date: October 29, 2013

List Price: 9.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

The first book in the gruesomely funny Tales from Schwartzgarten series.

Meet Osbert Brinkhoff, the unlikeliest of avengers. His is a tale of dark delights and ghastly goings-on, of injustice and revenge. The villains are vicious. The settings are sinister. And good does NOT always prevail...

If you prefer cleavers to kittens and fiends to fairies...then welcome to the GRUESOMELY FUNNY Tales from Schwartzgarten.

-Osbert the Avenger is the first in a thrilling series of four books, all set in the fictional city of Schwartzgarten

-With shades of Lemony Snicket and Roald Dahl, the Tales from Schwartzgarten are as hilarious as they are dark

-This brilliantly woven mock-gothic tale has huge child appeal



About the Author

Christopher William Hill is an award-winning playwright and radio dramatist. His plays for young people have been performed in the UK and internationally.


Praise For Tales from Schwartzgarten 1: Osbert the Avenger

A great story with that real gothic sense of macabre... almost pantomime with horror... I laughed all through it.—Nine to Noon Show (Radio New Zealand)

An idiosyncratic comic fantasy... it is likely that children will be most enthusiastic.—Books For Keeps

A riveting story - a clever mix of humour with some very dark and gruesome moments and a couple of real shocks towards the end.—Primary Times

A refreshingly unusual read.—Peters Gazette

A more deliciously gruesome tale of injury, revenge and murder it would be hard to find. * * * * *—bookbag.co.uk

A macabre tale full of ghoulish and gruesome escapades. Fans of Lemony Snicket and Edward Gorey will delight in this sinister story.—Booktrust

A macabre tale full of ghoulish and gruesome escapades. A frightening but appealing anti-hero.—Booktrust

A gruesomely funny story... a tale of dark delights and ghastly goings-on, of injustice and revenge.—West Briton

This man is darker, funnier and more alive than Roald Dahl.—Dan Patterson, creator of Mock The Week and Whose Line Is It Anyway

This is a brilliantly written book with fantastic characters. It is a real page-turner, a hilarious read and it will delight boys and girls alike.—EdOntheWeb.com

Rules are broken in a carnival manner that is deliciously and genuinely thrilling—Books for Keeps

One of those rare books children will happily read aloud to each other, which is one of the highest accolades a story can have. * * * * *—bookbag.co.uk

Macabre and gruesome and wickedly funny.—Julia Eccleshare, lovereading.co.uk

Looks set to be a hugely successful new series. Marvelously detailed. There are three more bloodthirsty and hilarious adventures to come.—School Librarian

If you love your teachers and have never entertained the thought of murdering them in the most diabolically appropriate way, then this book should probably be avoided at all costs.—Lion & Unicorn Books

If you like your reading dark and gruesome, then this is the series for you!—Parents in Touch

Highly original... gruesome but funny.—parentsintouch.co.uk

Gruesomely funny. This brilliantly woven mock-gothic tale has huge child appeal.—West Books

Gruesomely funny.—School Librarian

For readers who like their stories darkly comic, in the style of Lemony Snicket... elaborate murders, twists and narrow escapes.—Sunday Times

Fans of Roald Dahl, Chris Priestly and Lemony Snicket will savour every gruesome drop of this stylish, grisly and original comedy.—The Times

Dark and funny in a very horrible way.—Sunday Express

Christopher William's style is similar to Roald Dahl ... hilarious—The List

Bloodthirsty and mysterious with a sharp spike in its tail, Osbert's story is a deliciously dark invitation to the strange world of Schwartzgarten, a city corrupt with shadows and secrets - and in need of a hero.—We Love this Book

You want to be caught up in the thrall of delicious deviance and page-turning scandal, go on, get stuck in.—Sarah McIntyre

Utterly absorbing.—The Daily Telegraph