The Sisters (Hardcover)

By Nancy Jensen

Thorndike Press, 9781410445001, 575pp.

Publication Date: February 1, 2012

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (10/2/2012)
Hardcover (11/8/2011)
Paperback (12/29/2015)
MP3 CD (11/8/2011)
Compact Disc (11/8/2011)
Compact Disc (11/8/2011)
Audio Cassette (11/1/2011)

List Price: 32.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

December 2011 Indie Next List

“This is a powerful story of family through three generations, beginning with two sisters from a small town in Kentucky. In 1927, a tragedy and a misunderstanding separate them when they are both in their teens. We follow their stories and those of their daughters up to 2007. Jensen shows us that strong women are able to use lives cobbled together out of fear and pain as building blocks to create something resembling happiness, or at least stability. This debut novel is a page-turner with characters that remain with the reader long after the book is closed.”
— Marian Nielsen, Orinda Books, Orinda, CA
View the List

Description

In the tradition of Marilynne Robinson's "Housekeeping" and Elizabeth Strout's "Olive Kitteridge" comes a dazzling debut novel about the family bonds that remain even when they seem irretrievably torn apart.