Skip to main content
Cover for Geistliche Chor-Music

Geistliche Chor-Music

Heinrich Schütz


List Price: 34.97*
* Individual store prices may vary.


Geistliche Chor-Music (SWV 369-397) by the great German early Baroque composer Heinrich Sch tz (1585-1672) is a collection of twenty-nine motets for five (SSATB or SATTB), six (SSATTB), or seven voices and optional basso continuo. This easy-to-read, scholarly edition by Andrew Thomas Kuster results from a painstaking reexamination of the original part books, printed in 1648. This edition puts Sch tz's music in modern clefs, retains the original note values, includes English translations, and has keyboard reductions to simplify rehearsal. Incipits show original part names, clefs, time signatures, and ranges. The edition contains fifty pages of critical commentary, translations of Sch tz's preface, and plates to aid study. Among the gems of this collection are Selig sind die Toten, Die mit Tr nen's en, So fahr ich hin, and Das ist je gewisslich wahr. 328 pages. (This work is also commonly spelled Geistliche Chormusic or Geistliche Chormusik, by Heinrich Schuetz or Heinrich Schutz, edited by Andrew Kuster.), 9781411642430, 328pp.

Publication Date: July 21, 2005