Out of My Mind (Paperback)

By Sharon M. Draper

Atheneum Books for Young Readers, 9781416971719, 320pp.

Publication Date: May 1, 2012

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (3/28/2016)
Hardcover (3/9/2010)
Library Binding, Large Print (1/10/2019)
Paperback, Large Print (3/13/2019)
Prebound (5/1/2012)
CD-Audio (8/16/2016)
Prebound (5/1/2012)
MP3 CD (8/4/2015)
Paperback (6/5/2012)

List Price: 9.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Spring 2010 Kids' Next List

“This is the touching story of a gifted child,trapped in a barely working body. Melody, age 11, struggles to communicate with a world of children and adults most of whom can't see beyond her physical limitations. A provocative change of pace for Sharon Draper.”
— Peter Moore, The Blue Marble, Fort Thomas, KY
View the List

Description

Over 1.5 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller Out of My Mind and discovered the brilliant mind of Melody Brooks.

Out of My Mind spent two years on the New York Times bestseller list!

“If there’s one book teens and parents (and everyone else) should read this year, Out of My Mind should be it.” —Denver Post
“A gutsy, candid, and compelling story. It speaks volumes.” —School Library Journal (starred review)
“Unflinching and realistic.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“Uplifting…This moving novel will makes activists of us all.” —Booklist (starred review)

From multiple award-winning author Sharon Draper comes a story that will forever change how we all look at anyone with a disability, perfect for fans of RJ Palacio’s Wonder.

Eleven-year-old Melody is not like most people. She can’t walk. She can’t talk. She can’t write. All because she has cerebral palsy. But she also has a photographic memory; she can remember every detail of everything she has ever experienced. She’s the smartest kid in her whole school, but NO ONE knows it. Most people—her teachers, her doctors, her classmates—dismiss her as mentally challenged because she can’t tell them otherwise. But Melody refuses to be defined by her disability. And she’s determined to let everyone know it…somehow.


About the Author

Sharon M. Draper is a New York Times bestselling author and recipient of the Margaret A. Edwards Award honoring her significant and lasting contribution to writing for teens. She has received the Coretta Scott King Award for both Copper Sun and Forged by Fire, and was most recently awarded the Charlotte Huck Award for Stella by Starlight. Her novel Out of My Mind has won multiple awards and was a New York Times bestseller for over three years. She lives in Cincinnati, Ohio, where she taught high school English for twenty-five years and was named National Teacher of the Year. Visit her at SharonDraper.com.