Princesses Wear Pants (Hardcover)

By Savannah Guthrie, Allison Oppenheim, Eva Byrne (Illustrator)

Abrams Books for Young Readers, 9781419726033, 32pp.

Publication Date: September 12, 2017

Advertisement

Description

From NBC's TODAY coanchor Savannah Guthrie and educator Allison Oppenheim comes an empowering fairy tale with a twist.

In the tradition of Not All Princesses Dress in Pink and Princess in Black, Princesses Wear Pants follows the unflappable Princess Penelope Pineapple, who knows how to get the job done while staying true to herself. Princess Penelope lives in a beautiful palace with a closet full of beautiful dresses. But being a princess is much, much more than beauty. In fact, every morning Princess Penelope runs right past her frilly dresses to choose from her beloved collection of pants

What she wears each day depends on which job she has to do. Will she command the royal air force sporting her sequined flight suit? Will she find her zen in her yoga pants and favorite tee? Or, will she work in the kingdom's vegetable garden with pocketed overalls for all of her tools?

Unfortunately for Princess Penelope, not everyone in the Pineapple Kingdom thinks pants are always appropriate princess attire. When the grand Lady Busyboots demands that Princess Penelope must wear a gown to the annual Pineapple Ball, the young royal finds a clever way to express herself. Penelope's courage (and style choices) result in her saving the day

In their debut children's picture book, Savannah Guthrie and Allison Oppenheim team up for a savvy and imaginative story that celebrates fashion and girl power. Perfect for fans of Nickelodeon's Nella the Princess Knight, Princesses Wear Pants challenges gender stereotypes in the name of individuality, showing girls it's not how they look but what they do that matters.



About the Author

Savannah Guthrie is the co-anchor of TODAY, as well as an attorney and legal analyst. She lives in New York City with her husband and two children. Connect with her on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram. Allison Oppenheim is trained in clinical psychology and is a parent educator and mother of three. She lives in New York City. Eva Byrne is an artist who specializes in fashion illustration and children's books. She lives in the Irish countryside.
Advertisement