The Princess and the Absolutely Not a Princess (Miranda and Maude #1) (Hardcover)

By Emma Wunsch, Jessika von Innerebner (Illustrator)

Amulet Books, 9781419731792, 144pp.

Publication Date: August 7, 2018

List Price: 12.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

"Brilliantly relevant, playful, and compassionate." –Abby Hanlon, author of Dory Fantasmagory

A princess and a revolutionary form an unexpected friendship in this charming, illustrated chapter-book series, perfect for fans of Judy Moody and Clementine!

Princess Miranda does not want to go to school. She wants to shoe shop, plan parties, and decorate the castle.
         Maude cannot wait for school. She loves rules and social justice and getting good grades. She also loves hard-boiled eggs, much to Miranda’s dismay.
         When a tense first week of school results in Maude getting excluded from the Royal Birthday Party, Maude decides she’s found her first fight for social justice: a birthday boycott.
         This hilarious, heartfelt chapter-book series teaches empathy, and reminds us that your very best friend could be one desk away.


About the Author

Emma Wunsch is the author of The Movie Version, a young adult novel. She lives in Lebanon, New Hampshire. Visit her online at emmawunsch.com.


Jessika von Innerebner is an artist who’s worked with clients including Disney, Nickelodeon, Highlights, and Fisher-Price. She lives in Kelowna, Canada. Visit her online at jessvoni.com.


Praise For The Princess and the Absolutely Not a Princess (Miranda and Maude #1)

"This series opener is a short and sweet chapter book, decorated with von Innerebner's child-friendly illustrations as well as the drawings that Maude makes in her journal. Wunsch weaves in lessons of empathy and withholding judgment in an accessible, nonpreachy way. She ably captures and expresses feelings of misunderstanding and loneliness, all while creating laugh-out-loud scenes in which the girls ramp up the competition . . . This unlikely combination of royalty and social justice delivers fun, learning, and laughs."


"At its core, this is a book about feeling different, making uninformed judgments about others, trying new things, and finding acceptance."


"This hilarious illustrated story of an odd-couple friendship initiates a new early chapter book series for young readers . . . A totally delightful story guaranteed to please."


"Von Innerebner (the Ellie Ultra series) includes telling details in the expressive black-and-white illustrations that help limn the differences between the two girls. . . With a light touch and humor, Wunsch (The Movie Version), launching the Miranda and Maude chapter book series, underscores the value of eschewing stereotypes."