The Ladies of Grace Adieu and Other Stories (Compact Disc)

By Susanna Clarke, Davina Porter (Read by), Simon Prebble (Read by)

Macmillan Audio, 9781427200785

Publication Date: October 17, 2006



Following the enormous success of 2004 bestseller and critics' favorite Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, Susanna Clarke delivers a delicious collection of ten stories set in the same fairy-crossed world of 19th-century England. With Clarke's characteristic historical detail and diction, these dark, enchanting tales unfold in a slightly distorted version of our own world, where people are bedeviled by mischievous interventions from the fairies. With appearances from beloved characters from her novel, including Jonathan Strange and Childermass, and an entirely new spin on certain historical figures, including Mary, Queen of Scots, this is a must-have for fans of Susanna Clarke and an enticing introduction to her work for new listeners.

About the Author

Susanna Clarke is the author of the "New York Times "bestseller and multiple award winner "Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell." She lives in Cambridge, England.

Praise For The Ladies of Grace Adieu and Other Stories

Praise for Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell:
"Ravishing...superb...combines the dark mythology of fantasy with the delicious social comedy of Jane Austen into a masterpiece of the genre that rivals Tolkien."--Time
"Clarke welcomes herself into an exalted company of British writers--not only, some might argue, Dickens and Austen, but also the fantasy legends Kenneth Grahame and George MacDonald--as well as contemporary writers like Susan Cooper and Philip Pullman."--The New York Times Book Review
"There's no better way to experience the material than to hear it performed by such a consummate actor."--Publishers Weekly on Simon Prebble's narration