The Cabinet of Wonders (Compact Disc)

The Kronos Chronicles: Book I

By Marie Rutkoski, Lorelei King (Read by)

Macmillan Young Listeners, 9781427205483

Publication Date: August 5, 2008

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (8/4/2008)
Paperback (1/8/2013)
Paperback (2/2/2010)
Hardcover (8/5/2008)
CD-Audio (1/12/2016)
Hardcover, Large Print, Large Print (3/1/2009)
Prebound (2/2/2010)

List Price: 29.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Fall 2008 Kids' List

“This is a book to get lost in, to explore with curiosity and delight. Upon completion of the world's finest astronomical clock, Peter Kronos, is betrayed by the prince who commissioned it, blinded, and sent home. His daughter, Petra, sets out to retrace her father's journey and reclaim his eyes. An examination of the true meaning of blindness -- and an exciting start to a promising new series featuring a heroine with magic and spunk.”
— Emily D. Pardo, Books & Books, Coral Gables, FL
View the List

Description

Petra Kronos has a simple, happy life. But it’s never been ordinary. She has a pet tin spider named Astrophil who likes to hide in her snarled hair and give her advice. Her best friend can trap lightning inside a glass sphere. Petra also has a father in faraway Prague who is able to move metal with his mind. He has been commissioned by the prince of Bohemia to build the world’s finest astronomical clock. Petra’s life is forever changed when, one day, her father returns home – blind. The prince has stolen his eyes, enchanted them, and now wears them. But why? Petra doesn’t know, but she knows this: she will go to Prague, sneak into Salamander Castle, and steal her father’s eyes back. Joining forces with Neel, whose fingers extend into invisible ghosts that pick locks and pockets, Petra finds that many people in the castle are not what they seem, and that her father’s clock has powers capable of destroying their world. Marie Rutkoski's startling debut novel, about the risks we take to protect those we love, brims with magic, political intrigue, and heroism.  The Cabinet of Wonders is a 2009 Bank Street - Best Children's Book of the Year.



About the Author

Marie Rutkoski is a professor of English literature at Brooklyn College. She specializes in Renaissance drama, children's literature, and creative writing. She lives in New York City. LORELEI KING has recorded over 200 audiobooks, including several titles from Janet Evanovich's bestselling Stephanie Plum series and Darynda Jones's Charley Davidson series.


Praise For The Cabinet of Wonders: The Kronos Chronicles: Book I

"...a sweet and charming fantasy, perfect for fans of ELLA ENCHANTED or THE PRINCESS ACADEMY.... Lorelei King is a talented narrator whose superb creation of whimsical characters is beautifully done." - AudioFile, Winner of an Earphones Award "In this utterly engrossing book, Marie Rutkoski combines siteenth century European history with magic-rich fantasy to create a story that readers will find irresistible." —Through The Lookign GLass Children's Book Review