Skip to main content
Cover for The Advocate's Daughter

The Advocate's Daughter

A Thriller

Anthony Franze, Robert Petkoff (Read by)

CD-Audio

List Price: 34.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (3/21/2016)
Hardcover (3/22/2016)

Description

A Washington, D.C. lawyer and a frequent major media commentator on the Supreme Court, Anthony Franze delivers a high-stakes story of family, power, loss and revenge set within the insular world of the highest court of our country.

Among Washington D.C. power players, everyone has secrets they desperately want to keep hidden, including Sean Serrat, a Supreme Court lawyer. Sean transformed his misspent youth into a model adulthood, and now has one of the most respected legal careers in the country. But just as he learns he's on the short list to be nominated to the U.S. Supreme Court, his daughter, Abby, a talented and dedicated law student, goes missing. Abby's lifeless body is soon found in the library of the Supreme Court, and her boyfriend, Malik Montgomery, a law clerk at the high court, is immediately arrested. The ensuing media frenzy leads to allegations that Malik's arrest was racially motivated, sparking a national controversy.

While the Serrat family works through their grief, Sean begins to suspect the authorities arrested the wrong person. Delving into the mysteries of his daughter's last days, Sean stumbles over secrets within his own family as well as the lies of some of the most powerful people in the country. People who will stop at nothing to ensure that Sean never exposes the truth.



Praise For The Advocate's Daughter: A Thriller

"Robert Petkoff's narration brings the characters to life and adds depth to the suspenseful mystery. A great for thriller fans, especially those who enjoy politically themed mystery."--Library Journal

“Smart, sophisticated, suspenseful, and written with real insider authenticity. A winner.” —Lee Child

"Robert Petkoff, a prolific and accomplished narrator, masterfully unfolds this smart, suspenseful, nail-biter of a whodunit. Petkoff's deep, versatile voice is mesmerizing...this clever story draws you in, wrings you out, and holds you tight, until the very last word." -AudioFile.com

"Robert Petkoff's narration brings the characters to life and adds depth to the suspenseful mystery. A great listen for thriller fans, especially those who enjoy politically themed mystery." -Library Journal

"Franze's characters are very well-developed, and the versatile Robert Petkoff deftly juggles their voices in the narration." Fran Wood, NJ.com

"Gripping... fans of Brad Melzer should be satisfied."—Publishers Weekly

The Advocate's Daughter keeps twisting and turning right up until its shock of an ending. Long-buried secrets and shadowy agendas murderously collide-smack in the middle of a heated Supreme Court nomination clash. Anthony Franze evokes the inner workings and backstage machinations of this hidden world with deftness and verisimilitude. Read and marvel.” —Gregg Hurwitz, New York Times bestselling author of Orphan X

"Franze's first fiction foray centers around a potential Supreme Court nominee whose secret involvement in a murder as a young teenager returns to haunt him... a nifty little read."—Kirkus Reviews

The Advocate's Daughter is a smart, suspenseful thriller filled with insider knowledge of the Supreme Court, D.C. politics, and collisions between the two. It's also an absorbing story about families and the sacrifices we make for the people we love.” —Alafair Burke, New York Times bestselling author of All Day and a Night

“Fans of House of Cards will love The Advocate's Daughter, a thriller that gives us a real insider's view of a Washington most of us will never see. The tension starts on the very first page, and keeps ratcheting up. Once it grabs you it won't let go.” —Joseph Finder, New York Times bestselling author of The Fixer

“Fast paced, sharply plotted, and smartly written with an insider's knowledge of the land's highest court. A blast!” —Robert Dugoni, New York Times bestselling author

“A taut and twisting thriller, The Advocate's Daughter is also a sensitive meditation on family and the price of secrets we keep from each other -- and from ourselves. It crackles with authenticity and moves with an irresistible momentum. Fans of Brad Meltzer and John Grisham need to add Anthony Franze to their must-read list.” —Lisa Unger, New York Times bestselling author of Crazy Love You

“Anthony Franze is back and better than ever with THE ADVOCATE'S DAUGHTER-a brilliant thriller that's smart, well-written, and heart-stopping.” —Linda Fairstein, New York Times bestselling author of Devil’s Bridge

“[T]he ‘best of the best’ when it comes to suspense.”—Suspense Magazine

“[G]ives readers an inside peek at the world of the Supreme Court, and tossing in an intriguing mystery only adds to the thrills.”—Library Journal

“This fast-paced thriller will appeal to fans of Brad Meltzer, Joseph Finder, and Scott Turow.”—Booklist

Macmillan Audio, 9781427268341

Publication Date: March 22, 2016



About the Author

ANTHONY FRANZE is a lawyer in the Appellate and Supreme Court practice of a prominent Washington, D.C. law firm, and a critically acclaimed thriller writer with novels set in the nation’s highest court, including The Last Justice, The Advocate's Daughter, and The Outsider. Franze has been a commentator on legal and Supreme Court issues for The New Republic, Bloomberg, National Law Journal, and other major media outlets. He is a board member and a Vice President of the International Thriller Writers organization. Franze lives in the Washington, D.C. area with his family.

Robert Petkoff has won multiple AudioFile Earphones awards for his acclaimed narrations. He was named Best Voice of Fiction & Classics for his reading of The Evolution of Bruno Littlemore by Benjamin Hale. His other narration credits include Oath of Office by Michael Palmer, Gangster Squad by Paul Lieberman, and books by David Foster Wallace.Petkoff has appeared on Broadway, Off-Broadway, and in theaters across America and Europe.  He has worked in television and film. His theater credits include Lord Evelyn Oakleigh in the Broadway production of Anything Goes, Perchik as part of the Tony-nomianted cast of Fiddler on the Roof, and Hubert Humphrey in the Tony award-winning play All the Way. He has also had numerous roles in television on shows such as Law and Order and Married with Children.