Skip to main content
Cover for The Whisper Man

The Whisper Man

Alex North

Library Binding

List Price: 34.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (8/19/2019)
Paperback (6/9/2020)
Mass Market (9/28/2021)
Hardcover (8/20/2019)
CD-Audio (8/20/2019)

September 2019 Indie Next List

“A creepy, sinister, can’t-put-it-down story of a town that survives and then relives the crimes of a child serial killer. For those who love psychological thrillers (with the absence of gore but plenty of plot twists and turns), The Whisper Man is a grand ride into the minds of those who kill and those who are victims. You’ll find yourself looking over your shoulder when reading this book. Don’t stand too close to an open window...”
— Helen Gregory, Maria's Bookshop, Durango, CO
View the List

Summer 2020 Reading Group Indie Next List

“Yikes...this one will keep you up at night! Alex North has crafted an ideal thriller, complete with a spine-tingling premise (a serial killer lures his victims outside by whispering outside their windows), a compelling protagonist (a struggling widower with a sweet young son), and two well-drawn detectives. Fans of Jane Harper, Tana French, and Thomas Harris, take note.”
— Emilie Sommer, East City Bookshop, Washington, DC
View the List

Description

After the death of his wife, Tom Kennedy believes a fresh start will help him and his young son Jake heal. A new beginning in a new town. Featherbank. But the town has a dark past. Twenty years ago, a serial killer abducted and murdered five residents. Until Frank Carter was finally caught, he was nicknamed "The Whisper Man," for he would lure his victims out by whispering at their windows at night. Just as Tom and Jake settle into their new home, a young boy vanishes. His disappearance bears an unnerving resemblance to Frank Carter's crimes, reigniting old rumors that he had an accomplice. And then Jake begins acting strangely. He hears a whispering at his window.

Wheeler Publishing Large Print, 9781432872182, 594pp.

Publication Date: December 25, 2019



About the Author

Alex North was born in Leeds, England, where he now lives with his wife and son. The Whisper Man was inspired by North's own little boy, who mentioned one day that he was playing with "the boy in the floor." Alex North is a British crime writer who has previously published under another name.