Skip to main content
Cover for This Tender Land

This Tender Land

William Kent Krueger

Paperback

List Price: 18.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (9/2/2019)
Paperback (5/26/2020)
Hardcover (9/3/2019)
Compact Disc (9/3/2019)
Library Binding, Large Print (9/25/2019)

September 2019 Indie Next List

“The work of a master storyteller about the making of a young storyteller, This Tender Land is a coming-of-age novel for the ages. It begins in an isolated Dickensian boarding school in Minnesota during the early years of the Depression, then morphs into the story of four runaways in a canoe à la Huckleberry Finn. On the run from their school headmistress and the law, they encounter other wanderers and escapees from life as they canoe towards St. Louis to find their only known relative and a possible home. Odie, his brother Albert, their schoolmate Mose, and newly orphaned Emmy are unforgettable characters in an unforgiving era. Epic, thrilling, and beautifully written, this is storytelling at its very best.”
— Renee Barker, The Bookstore of Glen Ellyn, Glen Ellyn, IL
View the List

Summer 2020 Reading Group Indie Next List

This Tender Land is a modern classic that illuminates the desperate reality of a critical time in American history. I was immediately engaged in this epic story about four orphans who embark on a life-changing odyssey in search of freedom, safety, and family during the Great Depression. This Tender Land is a perfect novel for fans of Before We Were Yours and Where the Crawdads Sing. This novel is a must-read for all book clubs.”
— Eve Taben, Elm Street Books, New Canaan, CT
View the List

Large Print Press, 9781432881795, 692pp.

Publication Date: September 30, 2020