Driver's Education (Paperback)

By Grant Ginder

Simon & Schuster, 9781439187364, 256pp.

Publication Date: December 17, 2013

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (1/8/2013)

List Price: 18.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Grant Ginder's second novel, "a sensitively observed story about storytelling" (The New Yorker), takes readers on a twenty-first century road trip that "should appeal to fans of Junot Diaz and Michael Chabon" (Booklist).

FINN McPHEE EDITS A REALITY TV SHOW. His father, Colin, is a screenwriter. Both are adept at spinning fictions, a skill passed down to them by McPhee patriarch Alistair, whose wild yarns never failed to capture Finn's youthful imagination--even as they cast a fragile veil over a past marked by devastating loss, unbearable love, and an incessant longing for a life whose heroic proportions could measure up to the breathtakingly vivid color of Alistair's dreams. As Finn embarks on a road trip across America with his best friend, Randal, and a three-legged cat named Mrs. Dalloway in a last-chance bid to make his grandfather's dreams come true, he will finally learn that the truth, though not always stranger than fiction, can sometimes make the best story of all.