The Taker: Book One of the Taker Trilogy (Paperback)

Book One of the Taker Trilogy

By Alma Katsu

Gallery Books, 9781439197066, 464pp.

Publication Date: March 27, 2012

Advertisement

Description

In the tradition of Anne Rice and Elizabeth Kostova comes a hauntingly atmospheric tale spanning several lifetimes--a love story featuring alchemy, lust, and betrayal.

True love can last an eternity . . . but immortality comes at a price.

On the midnight shift at a hospital in rural St. Andrew, Maine, Dr. Luke Findley is expecting a quiet evening. Until a mysterious woman arrives in his ER, escorted by police--Lanore McIlvrae is a murder suspect--and Luke is inexplicably drawn to her. As Lanny tells him her story, an impassioned account of love and betrayal that transcends time and mortality, she changes his life forever. . . . At the turn of the nineteenth century, when St. Andrew was a Puritan settlement, Lanny was consumed as a child by her love for the son of the town's founder, and she will do anything to be with him forever. But the price she pays is steep--an immortal bond that chains her to a terrible fate for eternity.


About the Author

Alma Katsu has a B.A. in Writing from Brandeis University, where she studied under John Irving, and an M.A. from the Johns Hopkins Writing Program. She lives with her husband in Virginia.


Praise For The Taker: Book One of the Taker Trilogy

"A haunting tale of passion, obsession, and immortal longing. The Taker is unlike any other novel I have read: a gothic historical with a searing modern twist that will captivate your imagination and keep you reading long into the night." —C.W. Gortner, author of THE TUDOR SECRET



“Absolutely one of the best books [I] read in 2011.” —Just Another Story



“The Taker by Alma Katsu has literally left me speechless! [Katsu] mix[es] just the right amount of history, magic, and suspense…The only way to fully understand the magic of The Taker is to go and pick up a copy for yourself!” —Browsing Bookshelves

Advertisement