Skip to main content
Cover for Burning Kingdoms (The Internment Chronicles #2)

Burning Kingdoms (The Internment Chronicles #2)

Lauren DeStefano


List Price: 19.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (4/9/2015)
Paperback (3/22/2016)


Danger descends in the second book of The Internment Chronicles, from the New York Times bestselling author of The Chemical Garden trilogy.

After escaping Internment, Morgan and her fellow fugitives land on the ground to finally learn about the world beneath their floating island home.

The ground is a strange place where water falls from the sky as snow, and people watch moving pictures and visit speakeasies. A place where families can have as many children as they want, their dead are buried in vast gardens of bodies, and Internment is the feature of an amusement park.

It is also a land at war.

Everyone who fled Internment had their own reasons to escape their corrupt haven, but now they’re caught under the watchful eye of another king who wants to dominate his world. They may have made it to the ground, but have they dragged Internment with them?

Praise For Burning Kingdoms (The Internment Chronicles #2)

"Fans of the dystopian genre will enjoy"

"Readers will be eager to learn if worlds figuratively—or perhaps literally—collide"
— Booklist

"Fans will want to read this nuanced second volume"
— School Library Journal

Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 9781442480643, 320pp.

Publication Date: March 10, 2015

About the Author

Lauren DeStefano is the author of The Internment Chronicles and the New York Times bestselling Chemical Garden trilogy, which includes Wither, Fever, and Sever. She earned her BA in English with a concentration in creative writing from Albertus Magnus College in Connecticut. Visit her at