Old Wolf (Hardcover)

By Avi, Brian Floca (Illustrator)

Atheneum/Richard Jackson Books, 9781442499218, 160pp.

Publication Date: August 4, 2015

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (8/3/2015)
CD-Audio (8/4/2015)
Prebound (8/2/2016)

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Hunting—the predator and its prey—is at the heart of this riveting and suspenseful novel from Newbery Medalist Avi with illustrations from Caldecott Medalist Brian Floca.

In the computer game world of Bow Hunter—thirteen-year-old Casey’s world—there are no deaths, just kills. In Nashoba’s world—the wolf world—there have been no kills. For this is March, the Starving Time in the Iron Mountain region of Colorado, when wolves and ravens alike are desperate for food.

With the help of a raven, the miraculous Merla, Nashoba must lead his pack of eight to their next meal. The wolf hates being dependent on a mere bird, but Merla is a bird wise beyond her years.

When Casey’s path crosses Nashoba’s, the worlds of two very different hunters collide.


About the Author

Avi is the author of more than seventy books for children and young adults, including the 2003 Newbery medal winner Crispin: The Cross of Lead. He has won two Newbery Honors and many other awards for his fiction. He lives with his family in Denver, Colorado. Visit him at Avi-Writer.com.

Brian Floca is the author and illustrator of Locomotive, winner of the 2013 Caldecott Medal; Moonshot: The Flight of Apollo 11, a Robert F. Sibert Honor Book and a New York Times Best Illustrated Book; Lightship, also a Sibert Honor Book; and Racecar Alphabet, an ALA Notable Children’s Book. He has illustrated Avi’s Poppy Stories, Kate Messner’s Marty McGuire novels, and Jan Greenberg and Sandra Jordan’s Ballet for Martha: Making Appalachian Spring, a Sibert Honor Book and winner of the Orbis Pictus Award. You can visit him online at BrianFloca.com.


Praise For Old Wolf

"...a fine tale that will benefit from being sifted for all its meanings." -Kirkus Reviews

"Fast paced and exciting, this accessible novel will appeal to those who enjoy adventure stories." - School Library Journal

"...this is likely to appeal to fans of Gary Paulsen and Will Hobbs." -Booklist

"Avi switches

perspective between Nashoba and Casey, building the tension and raising a multitude

of questions in this thought-provoking allegory. Should the head of the food

chain kill for sport? And, is that killing really sport? Naturalistic black-and-white

pencil illustrations by Floca (who also illustrated Avi’s Poppy books) enhance the

classic-feeling tale." -Horn Book Magazine