Skip to main content


How the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House (Digital Audiobook)

A Novel

By Cherie Jones, Danielle Vitalis (Narrator)

Publication Date: January 25, 2021

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (2/1/2021)
Hardcover (2/2/2021)
Paperback (10/12/2021)
Compact Disc (1/5/2021)
Compact Disc (1/5/2021)

Description

In the tradition of Zadie Smith and Marlon James, a debut novel, set in Barbados, about four people confronting violence and love in a beachfront “paradise”

In Baxter’s Beach, Barbados, Lala’s grandmother Wilma tells the story of the one-armed sister, a cautionary tale about what happens to girls who disobey their mothers and go into the Baxter’s Tunnels. When she’s grown-up, Lala lives on the beach with her husband, Adan, a petty criminal with endless charisma whose thwarted burglary of one of the beach mansions sets off a chain of events with terrible consequences. A gunshot no one was meant to witness. A new mother whose baby is found lifeless on the beach. A woman torn between two worlds and incapacitated by grief. And two men, driven into the Tunnels by desperation and greed, who attempt a crime that may cost them their freedom—and their lives.

How the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House is an intimate and visceral portrayal of interconnected lives across race and class in a rapidly changing resort town, told by an astonishing new author of literary fiction.