The Watchmaker of Filigree Street (Hardcover)

By Natasha Pulley

Charnwood, 9781444827460, 440pp.

Publication Date: March 1, 2016

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (5/3/2016)
Hardcover (7/14/2015)
Hardcover, Large Print (9/23/2015)

List Price: 35.50*
* Individual store prices may vary.

August 2015 Indie Next List

“It takes a special talent to have a reader truly suspend disbelief, but Pulley succeeds spectacularly well in this debut. In 1880s London, Thaniel Steepleton is a telegraphist whose life is saved by a very timely pocket watch. When he meets its maker, Keita Mori, his entire life is upended and made more beautiful -- and dangerous. The clock is ticking on this new friendship, and Thaniel must use his ingenuity and previously untapped bravery to save Keita's life and his own future. Fans of David Mitchell and Erin Morgenstern will be intrigued, and I think it's safe to say that we can expect great things from Pulley.”
— Amanda Hurley (M), Inkwood Books, Tampa, FL
View the List

Description

London, 1883: Thaniel Steepleton returns to his tiny flat to find a mysterious gold pocket watch on his pillow. When the watch saves his life from a bomb blast that destroys Scotland Yard, Thaniel goes in search of its maker, Keita Mori - a kind, lonely immigrant who sweeps him into a new world of clockwork and music. Although Mori seems harmless at first, a chain of unexpected slips proves that he must be hiding something. Meanwhile, Grace Carrow is sneaking into an Oxford library dressed as a man. A theoretical physicist, she is desperate to prove the existence of the luminiferous ether before her mother can force her to marry. As the lives of these three characters become entwined, events spiral out of control, until Thaniel is torn between loyalties, futures, and opposing geniuses.