The Summer House (Paperback)

By Santa Montefiore

Simon & Schuster, 9781451676693, 392pp.

Publication Date: June 3, 2014

Advertisement

Description

Previously published as The Woman from Paris

"Superb storyteller" (Plum Sykes) Santa Montefiore's sweeping and sophisticated international bestseller Summer House is "a feel good story, full of exuberance and passion and threaded with hope...an exceptional find" (Seattle Post-Intelligencer).

When Lord Frampton dies in a skiing accident, a beautiful young woman named Phaedra appears at his funeral--claiming to be the Lord's illegitimate daughter. In his will, Lord Frampton has left the priceless Frampton suite of sapphires to this interloper, confirming her claim and outraging his three adult sons and widow. Eventually, however, Phaedra's sweet nature thaws the frosty relationships. She becomes the daughter that Antoinette Frampton never had and a wise and compassionate granddaughter to the formidable Dowager Lady Frampton. But an attraction grows between Phaedra and the eldest son, David. It seems an impossible love--blocked by their blood connection and by the fury of one family member who is determined to expose Phaedra as a fraud.

Filled with the luscious scenery and enchanting characters her fans adore, Santa Montefiore's Summer House is an unforgettable story about family, forgiveness, and the power of love.


Praise For The Summer House

“Santa Montefiore really knows these people inside and out. I couldn’t put this book down.”

-Julian Fellowes, creator of Downton Abbey


“The joy Montefiore infuses into her work shines throughout . . . a feel good story, full of exuberance and passion and threaded with hope. Score another winner for Santa Montefiore--this is an exceptional find.”



"This novel captivates from start to finish, the plot driven by dark secret, unspoken emotions and a forbidden attraction. The characters are striking and complex, leading to intense and sometimes humorous family dynamics. In rich prose, Montefiore tells an engrossing story about overcoming grief and betrayal to find hope, love and happiness in the most unexpected places."



"Montefiore is an able chronicler of family dynamics, making for a skillfully crafted...tale of high society drama."



"Themes of remorse, recrimination, and reconciliation imbue Montefiore’s...bright and buoyant romance with a satisfying depth."



“Readers will be reluctant to leave the golden world Montefiore creates. Fans of Rosamunde Pilcher and Adriana Trigiani will enjoy.”



“The book is filled with glamorous characters discreetly hiding their emotions and motivations.”



“The characters in The Woman from Paris are alive and real . . . beautifully written.”

Advertisement