Hungry Jim (Hardcover)

(Children's Emotion Books, Animal Books for Kids, Funny Children Books)

By Laurel Snyder, Chuck Groenink (By (artist))

Chronicle Books, 9781452149875, 56pp.

Publication Date: September 3, 2019

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

"In this clever tribute to Maurice Sendak, Snyder and Groenink gleefully subvert picture book norms by embracing the beastliest behavior." Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

A hilariously meaningful tale about learning to control your instincts: When Jim wakes up one Tuesday morning, he doesn't feel like eating his pancakes. In fact, Jim doesn't feel like Jim. He feels rather, well, beastly. But he is hungry. Very hungry... hungry as a lion! This clever tale of moods from Laurel Snyder and Chuck Groenink offers a lighthearted depiction of the beastliness that lives inside all of us—and the power we have to put it in its place.

• Surprising yet satisfying, this humorous book will have readers of all ages roaring to devour it
• Richly illustrated pages are engaging and help readers connect with the story
• Author Laurel Snyder is the author of many books for children, including the Theodor Seuss Geisel Award-winning Charlie & Mouse
• Illustrator Chuck Groenink hails from a village in the north of the Netherlands, where he spent his formative years climbing trees, drawing, reading, and cycling

Fans of The Dreamer, Ruby's Sword, and Tomorrow Most Likely will also enjoy the engaging storyline and whimsical illustrations in Hungry Jim

"Use this at story hour and expect giggles, shrieks, and groans."
Booklist

• Great family read-aloud book
• Books for kids ages 3–5
• Children's book for preschool to kindergarten


About the Author

Laurel Snyder is the author of many books for children, including the Theodor Seuss Geisel Award–winning Charlie & Mouse. She lives and writes in a small yellow house in Atlanta, Georgia, which she shares with her husband and two sons.

Chuck Groenink hails from a village in the north of the Netherlands, where he spent his formative years climbing trees, drawing, reading, and cycling. He lives in Syracuse, New York.


Praise For Hungry Jim: (Children's Emotion Books, Animal Books for Kids, Funny Children Books)

"In this clever tribute to Maurice Sendak, Snyder and Groenink gleefully subvert picture book norms by embracing the beastliest behavior." — Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

"Use this at story hour and expect giggles, shrieks, and groans." - Booklist

"Rightly and properly dedicated to Maurice Sendak . . . A reassuring promise that it's OK to be beastly." — Kirkus Reviews

"Part Kafkaesque tale and part homage to Maurice Sendak, as noted in the dedication, this book is a pure delight. A definite celebration of his style and not an outright copy, this is a must-have for fans of Sendak who adore tales of wildness; sure to have readers young and old giggling with joy."—School Library Journal