Most of the Better Natural Things in the World (Hardcover)

(Juvenile Fiction, Nature Book for Kids, Wordless Picture Book)

By Dave Eggers, Angel Chang (Illustrator)

Chronicle Books, 9781452162829, 52pp.

Publication Date: November 5, 2019

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

A tiger carries a dining room chair on her back. But why? Where is she going? With just one word per page, in lush, color-rich landscapes, we learn about the features that make up our world: an archipelago, a dune, an isthmus, a lagoon. Across them all, the tiger roams. An enigmatic investigation of our world's most beautiful places from bestselling author Dave Eggers, beautifully illustrated by debut artist Angel Chang.

• Each page introduces young readers to a different geographic element—from archipelagos to lagoons to gorges
• Universal story of a mother's arduous journey back to her family
• Quirky and enigmatic story with hipster appeal

Fans of Symphony City, Goodbye Summer, Hello Autumn, Curiousitree, and Natural Wonders of the World will love this book.

This book is perfect for:
• Parents and grandparents
• Teachers
• Fans of Dave Eggers or McSweeney's
• Fans of wildlife or animal lovers
• Art book lovers


About the Author

Dave Eggers is an American writer, editor, and publisher. He is also the founder of McSweeney's, the cofounder of the youth writing organization 826 Valencia, and the founder of ScholarMatch.

Angel Chang is an artist who lives in Taiwan. This is her first book.


Praise For Most of the Better Natural Things in the World: (Juvenile Fiction, Nature Book for Kids, Wordless Picture Book)

"An artistic envisioning of a list poem, of sorts, about place. Repeated perusals will have readers proclaiming it's grrrrr-eat."— Kirkus Reviews, Starred review

"A white tiger transports a yellow dining room chair on a fantastic voyage across varied landscapes. Each spread features a single topographic designation. The tiger swims, climbs, hikes, rows, and meanders his way across a tundra, estuary, atoll, cloud forest, and more. The wonderful illustrations will excite viewers about the natural world."—School Library Journal

"As entertaining as it is educational, this book has much to offer young naturalists and budding scientists."-Horn Book Magazine



"[S]tunning artwork makes a case for environmentalism and will have readers strapping on a chair and heading out in search of our planet's diverse and wondrous beauty."— Booklist, starred review

"Eggers (What Can a Citizen Do?) and newcomer Chang imagine a wild world emptied of humans, their buildings, their vehicles, and their trash-landscapes that make [a] tiger's expedition gloriously free and startlingly beautiful."—Publishers Weekly

"Dave Eggers's stunning picture book introduces the youngest readers to words that identify the natural world's wonders."— Shelf Awareness, starred review