The Computer Book (Hardcover)

From the Abacus to Artificial Intelligence, 250 Milestones in the History of Computer Science (Sterling Milestones)

By Simson L. Garfinkel, Rachel H. Grunspan

Sterling, 9781454926214, 528pp.

Publication Date: November 6, 2018

List Price: 29.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.


Part of Sterling's extremely popular Milestones series, this illustrated exploration of computer science ranges from the ancient abacus to superintelligence and social media.

With 250 illustrated landmark inventions, publications, and events--encompassing everything from ancient record-keeping devices to the latest computing technologies--this highly topical addition to the Sterling Milestones series takes a chronological journey through the history and future of computer science. Two expert authors, with decades' of experience working in computer research and innovation, explore topics including the Sumerian abacus, the first spam message, Morse code, cryptography, early computers, Isaac Asimov's laws of robotics, UNIX and early programming languages, movies, video games, mainframes, minis and micros, hacking, virtual reality, and more.

About the Author

Simson L. Garfinkel is the Senior Computer Scientist for Confidentiality and Disclosure Avoidance at the US Census Bureau. He holds seven patents and has published dozens of articles on computer security and digital forensics. He is an ACM Fellow, award-winning journalist, and author or coauthor of 15 other books, mostly on computing. Rachel H. Grunspan has worn many hats in her almost 20 years at the CIA including cyber-threat analyst, game and simulation designer, and a leader in the world of digital innovation. She is a member of the Senior Intelligence Service and a winner of the 2007 Director of National Intelligence Galileo Award. Rachel received a BA in Politics from Brandeis University and a Master of Science in Information Systems from the London School of Economics and Political Science.