More than Happy (Hardcover)

The Wisdom of Amish Parenting

By Serena B. Miller, Paul Stutzman

Howard Books, 9781476753409, 336pp.

Publication Date: February 3, 2015

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (5/10/2016)

List Price: 24.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

In the tradition of Bringing Up Bebe and Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother, an in-depth look at the practices and principles of Amish parents and how they raise children who are self-sufficient, hard-working, and remarkably happy.

The more time Serena Miller spent in Holmes County, Ohio, doing research for her popular Amish novels, the more she began to notice something—Amish children were the happiest children she’d ever seen. Despite not having modern toys and conveniences, they are joyful, serene, calm, and respectful—not to mention whipping up full meals and driving buggies before most of us will allow our children to walk to school alone. And yet, when she started asking questions about what these parents were doing differently, she was startled to learn that happiness is not a goal Amish strive for at all.

In More Than Happy Miller uncovers many surprising insights, including the significance of real responsibilities, the wisdom of unplugging from technology, the value of unstructured time to play, the importance of firm rules, and the importance of each teenager’s freedom to decide what is best for their future.

Full of practical takeaways, More Than Happy shows you how to apply the basic principles and parenting techniques the Amish use, so you can raise happy, well-adjusted kids.


About the Author

Prior to writing novels, Serena Miller wrote for many periodicals, including Woman’s World, Guideposts, Billy Graham’s Decision Magazine, Reader’s Digest, Focus on the Family, Christian Woman, and The Detroit Free Press Magazine. She has spent many years partnering with her husband in full-time ministry and lives on a farm in southern Ohio near a thriving Amish community.

Paul Stutzman was born into an Amish family in Holmes County, Ohio. Shortly after his birth, his family left the Amish lifestyle and joined a strict Conservative Mennonite church. Paul continued to live among and mingle with his Amish friends and relatives his entire life, married a Mennonite girl, and remained in the Amish community working and raising a family. He is the author of Hiking Through, a memoir about the Appalachian Trail. He lives in central Ohio and can be found at PaulStutzman.com.


Praise For More than Happy: The Wisdom of Amish Parenting

“Not only provides a kaleidoscope of insight into the daily structure of Amish parenting, but… compares and contrasts it with ‘Englisch’ parenting and offers ways to incorporate Amish methods into one's own life. A rich, entertaining compendium.”

"Miller gleans helpful clues about parenting that can be used in non-Amish homes... A useful offering."

"With charming examples and interesting first-hand observations, Miller shows us how Amish parents instill the values, virtues, and habits that mark their children with exceptional personal character and abiding faith."
— Marybeth Hicks, author of Teachable Moments

“How I long to hear a parent say, ‘I just want my child to be humble’ rather than ‘I just want my child to be happy.’ In the closing chapter of More Than Happy, Serena and Paul drive the message home that who we are and what we stand for determines who our children become.”
— Jill Rigby Garner, Founder, Manners of the Heart® and author of Raising Respectful Children in a Disrespectful World