One of Us (Hardcover)

By Tawni O'Dell

Gallery Books, 9781476755878, 304pp.

Publication Date: August 19, 2014

List Price: 25.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

From the New York Times bestselling author of Back Roads comes a fast-paced literary thriller about a forensic psychologist forced to face his own demons after discovering his small hometown terrorized by a serial killer.

Dr. Sheridan Doyle—a fastidiously groomed and TV-friendly forensic psychologist—is the go-to shrink for the Philadelphia District Attorney’s office whenever a twisted killer’s mind eludes other experts. But beneath his Armani pinstripes, he’s still Danny Doyle, the awkward, terrified, bullied boy from a blue-collar mining family, plagued by panic attacks and haunted by the tragic death of his little sister and mental unraveling of his mother years ago.

Returning to a hometown grappling with its own ghosts, Danny finds a dead body at the infamous Lost Creek gallows where a band of rebellious Irish miners was once executed. Strangely, the body is connected to the wealthy family responsible for the miners' deaths. Teaming up with veteran detective Rafe, a father-like figure from his youth, Danny—in pursuit of a killer—comes dangerously close to startling truths about his family, his past, and himself.

In this masterfully told psychological thriller in the vein of Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl, the past and present collide to put Lost Creek’s long-lived ghosts to bed.


About the Author

Tawni O’Dell is the New York Times bestselling author of six novels, including Back Roads, which was an Oprah’s Book Club pick and a Book-of-the-Month Club Main Selection. She is also a contributor to several anthologies, including Becoming Myself: Reflections on Growing Up Female. Her works have been published in more than forty countries.


Praise For One of Us

"With deft prose, authenticity of character, and sheer tenderness, O'Dell…is the absolute master of her craft."
— The Denver Post

"Poignant…achingly beautiful prose…remarkable."
— San Diego Union

"Rich, compassionate storytelling."
— Entertainment Weekly

"Triumphantly fulfilling the promise of her bestselling debut, O'Dell examines the tangled, enduring bonds of family and community in a Pennsylvania mining town…[a] searing, tragic vision of working-class people…Powerful and uncompromising, yet radiant with love, this one's pretty close to a masterpiece."
— Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Riveting storytelling and genuine emotional punch…excellent."
— Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"A masterfully unfolded, absolutely engrossing story as smart and sassy as it is wise…love [is] at the heart of it all, in crisp, insightful prose that sweeps the reader along. A knockout."
— Booklist (starred review)

"Her hard-hitting, well-crafted story packs a wallop.”
— Library Journal

"Another gem."
— People

“A well-written psychological thriller that will appeal to fans of Gillian Flynn and Daniel Woodrell.”

“An evocative novel about murder and intrigue in a small mining town in which secrets and lies from the past threaten to destroy the very fabric of the community. Compulsively readable.”
— Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of ORPHAN TRAIN

“A gritty tale of vengeance.”

“A fearless exploration of the line between mental illness and true evil, a place many thriller writers visit but without the kind of fearless insights O’Dell reveals in this powerful novel.”