Skip to main content
Cover for One of Us

One of Us

Tawni O'Dell

Paperback

List Price: 19.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (8/18/2014)
Compact Disc (4/7/2015)
Compact Disc (8/19/2014)
MP3 CD (8/19/2014)
Compact Disc (8/19/2014)
Hardcover (8/19/2014)

Description

“A fearless exploration of the line between mental illness and true evil, a place many thriller writers visit but without the kind of fearless insights [Tawni] O’Dell reveals in this powerful novel” (The New York Times Book Review).

Dr. Sheridan Doyle—a fastidiously groomed and TV-friendly forensic psychologist—is the go-to shrink for the Philadelphia District Attorney’s office whenever a twisted killer’s mind eludes other experts. But beneath his Armani pinstripes, he’s still Danny Doyle, the awkward, terrified, bullied boy from a blue-collar mining family, plagued by panic attacks and haunted by the tragic death of his little sister and mental unraveling of his mother years ago.

Returning to a hometown grappling with its own ghosts, Danny finds a dead body at the infamous Lost Creek gallows where a band of rebellious Irish miners was once executed. Strangely, the body is connected to the wealthy family responsible for the miners’ deaths. Teaming up with veteran detective Rafe, a father-like figure from his youth, Danny—in pursuit of a killer—comes dangerously close to startling truths about his family, his past, and himself.

With “poignant…achingly beautiful prose” (San Diego Union) and “rich, compassionate storytelling” (Entertainment Weekly), O’Dell weaves a masterful, thrilling tale reminiscent of Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl, where the past and present collide to put Lost Creek’s long-lived ghosts to bed.


Praise For One of Us

“Twists and turns and family secrets abound in this tightly plotted thriller.”
— Booklist

“Personal demons, childhood traumas and class warfare add up to a gritty tale of vengeance.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“A well-written psychological thriller that will appeal to fans of Gillian Flynn and Daniel Woodrell. ”
— Library Journal

“An evocative novel about murder and intrigue in a small mining town . . . compulsively readable.”
— Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of ORPHAN TRAIN

“A fearless exploration of the line between mental illness and true evil, a place many thriller writers visit but without the kind of fearless insights O’Dell reveals in this powerful novel.”
— The New York Times Book Review

Gallery Books, 9781476755939, 304pp.

Publication Date: April 7, 2015



About the Author

Tawni O’Dell is the New York Times bestselling author of six novels, including Back Roads, which was an Oprah’s Book Club pick and a Book-of-the-Month Club Main Selection. She is also a contributor to several anthologies, including Becoming Myself: Reflections on Growing Up Female. Her works have been published in more than forty countries.