One of Us (Paperback)

By Tawni O'Dell

Gallery Books, 9781476755939, 304pp.

Publication Date: April 7, 2015

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (8/19/2014)
Compact Disc (4/7/2015)
Pre-Recorded Audio Player (8/1/2014)
Compact Disc (8/19/2014)
MP3 CD (8/19/2014)
Compact Disc (8/19/2014)

List Price: 16.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

“A fearless exploration of the line between mental illness and true evil, a place many thriller writers visit but without the kind of fearless insights [Tawni] O’Dell reveals in this powerful novel” (The New York Times Book Review).

Dr. Sheridan Doyle—a fastidiously groomed and TV-friendly forensic psychologist—is the go-to shrink for the Philadelphia District Attorney’s office whenever a twisted killer’s mind eludes other experts. But beneath his Armani pinstripes, he’s still Danny Doyle, the awkward, terrified, bullied boy from a blue-collar mining family, plagued by panic attacks and haunted by the tragic death of his little sister and mental unraveling of his mother years ago.

Returning to a hometown grappling with its own ghosts, Danny finds a dead body at the infamous Lost Creek gallows where a band of rebellious Irish miners was once executed. Strangely, the body is connected to the wealthy family responsible for the miners’ deaths. Teaming up with veteran detective Rafe, a father-like figure from his youth, Danny—in pursuit of a killer—comes dangerously close to startling truths about his family, his past, and himself.

With “poignant…achingly beautiful prose” (San Diego Union) and “rich, compassionate storytelling” (Entertainment Weekly), O’Dell weaves a masterful, thrilling tale reminiscent of Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl, where the past and present collide to put Lost Creek’s long-lived ghosts to bed.


About the Author

Tawni O’Dell is the New York Times bestselling author of six novels, including Back Roads, which was an Oprah’s Book Club pick and a Book-of-the-Month Club Main Selection. She is also a contributor to several anthologies, including Becoming Myself: Reflections on Growing Up Female. Her works have been published in more than forty countries.


Praise For One of Us

“Twists and turns and family secrets abound in this tightly plotted thriller.”
— Booklist

“Personal demons, childhood traumas and class warfare add up to a gritty tale of vengeance.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“A well-written psychological thriller that will appeal to fans of Gillian Flynn and Daniel Woodrell. ”
— Library Journal

“An evocative novel about murder and intrigue in a small mining town . . . compulsively readable.”
— Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of ORPHAN TRAIN

“A fearless exploration of the line between mental illness and true evil, a place many thriller writers visit but without the kind of fearless insights O’Dell reveals in this powerful novel.”
— The New York Times Book Review