Quicksand (Paperback)

By Steve Toltz

Simon & Schuster, 9781476797830, 368pp.

Publication Date: April 5, 2016

October 2015 Indie Next List

“A dark comedy that ups the ante on both the 'dark' and the 'comedy,' pulling laughs from some of the worst situations that can be imagined, Quicksand is also an incredible distillation of the absurdity that makes up life in the 21st century. All too frequently, authors who take on so vast a topic struggle to say anything of real meaning, but Toltz drops simultaneously profound and hilarious observations as if they were one-liners and hardly pauses to let them sink in before moving on to the next. With characters both vibrant and tragic, and the story both an encapsulation and a dazzling parody of our modern lives, Quicksand is a book not to be missed.”
— Christopher Phipps (M), DIESEL, A Bookstore, Oakland, CA
View the List
Advertisement

Description

This fearlessly funny, outrageously inventive dark comedy about two lifelong friends is "a delightful literary novel...extraordinarily imaginative" (Psychology Today) from Man Booker Prize finalist Steve Toltz--for fans of Dave Eggers, Martin Amis, and David Foster Wallace.

Liam is a struggling writer and a failing cop. Aldo, his best friend and muse, is a haplessly criminal entrepreneur with an uncanny knack for disaster. As Aldo's luck worsens, Liam is inspired to base his next book on his best friend's exponential misfortunes and hopeless quest to win back his one great love: his ex-wife, Stella. What begins as an attempt to make sense of Aldo's mishaps spirals into a profound story of faith and friendship.

"Steve Toltz channels a poet's delight in crafting the perfect phrase on every highly quotable page" (Publishers Weekly). With the same originality, brilliance, and buoyancy that catapulted his first novel, A Fraction of the Whole, onto prize lists around the world, Toltz has created a rousing, hysterically funny but unapologetically dark satire about love, faith, friendship, and the artist's obligation to his muse. Quicksand is a subversive portrait of twenty-first-century society in all its hypocrisy and absurdity that "confounds and astonishes in equal measure, often on the same page...A tour de force" (Australian Book Review).
Advertisement