Overwatch (Hardcover)

A Thriller (The Logan West Thrillers #1)

By Matthew Betley

Atria/Emily Bestler Books, 9781476799216, 400pp.

Publication Date: March 1, 2016

List Price: 26.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

The Military Times’s Top Ten Books of 2016 Pick

“A former Marine himself, Betley proves himself an able heir to the throne currently held by the likes of Brad Thor and the late, great Vince Flynn. But Betley also incorporates a quest for a historical artifact reminiscent of James Rollins and Steve Berry, resulting in a structurally flawless read, unafraid to tackle difficult issues like PTSD as well. Not to be missed.” —The Providence Journal

“Matthew Betley has proven he’s an accomplished writer. Overwatch is a brilliantly conceived thriller that surges from the first chapter through mounting deception to a powerful conclusion.” —Clive Cussler, #1 New York Times bestselling author

Overwatch is an exceptional read—a thoroughly engrossing thriller that reminds us of battles fought and threats we still face. We might have expected from Matthew Betley the gripping battlefield accounts that could only come from a seasoned warrior. But the humanity of its characters and the relentless drive of its narrative will make readers impatient for Betley’s next book.” —Stephen Hayes, The Weekly Standard

“As a former Marine, Betley really knows his stuff. Fans of nonstop, nail-biting action will love this one!” —Kyle Mills, #1 New York Times bestselling author

When Logan West impulsively answers a dead man’s ringing phone, he triggers a global race against the clock to track down an unknown organization searching for an Iraqi artifact that is central to a planned attack in the Middle East—one that will draw the United States into a major conflict with Iran.

Logan, a former Marine officer, is quickly contracted as a “consultant” to assist the FBI as part of a special task force bent on stopping the shadowy operatives, whatever the cost. The battles are nonstop, from the plains of the Midwest, to mansions in northern Mexico, to the war-torn Al-Anbar province, pitting an international team against trained mercenaries employed by the world’s largest private security contractor...whose owner has a personal vendetta against the US government. Meanwhile, Logan is battling his own demons, especially the trauma of the ambush that his Force Recon unit suffered at an insurgent torture compound in Fallujah in 2004, which threatens to destroy everything he holds dear.

With high-stakes and fully-realized characters, Overwatch is a thriller unlike any you’ve read before: deftly plotted, up-to-the-minute, and impossible to put down.


About the Author

Matthew Betley is a former Marine officer of ten years. His experience includes deployments to Djibouti after September 11, and Iraq, prior to the surge. A New Jersey native who considers Cincinnati home, he graduated from Miami University in Oxford, Ohio, with a B.A. in psychology and minors in political science and sociology.


Praise For Overwatch: A Thriller (The Logan West Thrillers #1)

"A gripping, fast-paced, and frighteningly real tale told with bravado and expertise by someone who was there! Wall to wall action from start to finish. You will not put this book down!"
— Christopher Reich, #1 New York Times bestselling author

"As a former Marine, Betley really knows his stuff. Fans of nonstop, nail-biting action will love this one!"
— Kyle Mills, #1 New York Times bestselling author

"Matthew Betley has proven he’s an accomplished writer. Overwatch is a brilliantly conceived thriller that surges from the first chapter through mounting deception to a powerful conclusion."
— Clive Cussler, #1 New York Times bestselling author

"Matthew Betley’s Overwatch crackles with authenticity. You wonder how much of it is true."
— Matthew Reilly, Author of Ice Station, Seven Deadly Wonders, and The Great Zoo of China

“Bridging the gap between first-hand military experience and thrilling fictional adventure story, Overwatch is a great read for veterans and non-veterans alike.”
— General (Retired) Stan McChrystal, former Commander, Joint Special Operations Command (JSOC)

"Matthew Betley bursts onto the stage with a thriller that dares you to put it down. It is rare to find a debut novel that keeps you up all night, furiously flipping pages, but Overwatch does that- and more."
— Joshua Hood, author of CLEAR BY FIRE

"Overwatch is an exceptional read - a thoroughly engrossing thriller that reminds us of battles fought and threats we still face. We might have expected from Matthew Betley the gripping battlefield accounts that could only come from a seasoned warrior. But the humanity of its characters and the relentless drive of its narrative will make readers impatient for Betley's next book."
— Stephen Hayes

"Betley has made Logan someone readers can relate to and feel for. He’s human, like the rest of us. In a genre where most protagonists are a pair of tights and a cape away from being Superman, this is a welcomed and refreshing change of pace....Overwatch is my early pick for the best debut novel of 2016!"

“Pace and authenticity are the calling cards here and Betley has both in spades.”

“Rousing…Betley writes a good fight scene and knows how to plot”

“A stunningly adept thriller, Overwatch heralds great things to come from Matthew Betley.”

“A former Marine himself, Betley proves himself an able heir to the throne currently held by the likes of Brad Thor and the late, great Vince Flynn. But Betley also incorporates a quest for a historical artifact reminiscent of James Rollins and Steve Berry,resulting in a structurally flawless read, unafraid to tackle difficult issues like PTSD as well. Not to be missed.”

Overwatch is the good stuff featuring a hero with the right stuff, a one-sit read that is set very much in the real world.”

"Matthew Betley’s Overwatch is a high-stakes, high-speed, and high-testosterone thrill ride. With a relentless pace and ultra-realistic action, this novel smashes a metal fist through the military-thriller genre. Fans of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor will enjoy Betley's dynamite debut."
— Mark Greaney, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author of BACK BLAST