Marabel and the Book of Fate (Digital Audiobook)

By Tracy Barrett, Cassandra Morris (Narrator)

Publication Date: February 5, 2018

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (2/6/2018)
Pre-Recorded Audio Player (3/6/2018)

Description

Free-spirited Marabel must defy expectations to rescue her brother--and their kingdom--in this charming, action-packed, and magical story perfect for fans of Ella Enchanted and Dealing with Dragons.

In Magikos, life is dictated by the Book of Fate's ancient predictions, including the birth of a royal Chosen One who will save the realm. Princess Marabel has grown up in the shadow of her twin brother, Marco, who everyone assumes is the true Chosen One. While Marco is adored and given every opportunity, Marabel is overlooked and has to practice her sword fighting in secret.

But on the night of their thirteenth birthday, Marco is kidnapped by an evil queen, and Marabel runs to his rescue. Outside the castle walls for the first time, accompanied by her best friend and a very smug unicorn, Marabel embarks on a daring mission that brings her face-to-face with fairies, trolls, giants--and the possibility that all is not as it seems in Magikos.



About the Author

Tracy Barrett is the author of numerous books for young readers, including the award-winning historical novel Anna of Byzantium (Delacorte, 1999), a beloved classic which has sold over 200,000 copies to date. Her numerous YA and MG titles have garnered multiple starred reviews from Kirkus, PW, and SLJ. Her books have also been named ALA Quick Picks and Best Book for Young Adults titles; included on "best of" lists from Bank Street, BCCB, Junior Library Guild, and many more; and have received countless other awards and honors on the national and local level.

Tracy was the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators' Regional Advisor for the Midsouth from 1999 to 2009 and is now SCBWI's Regional Advisor Coordinator. She was awarded the SCBWI Work-in-Progress Grant in 2005 and a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities in 1994. She holds a B.A. with Honors in Classics from Brown University, and an M.A. and Ph.D. in Medieval Italian Literature from the University of California at Berkeley. She lives in Nashville, TN, where until recently she taught at Vanderbilt University.