Skip to main content


You Can Stop Humming Now (Digital Audiobook)

A Doctor's Stories of Life, Death, and in Between

By Daniela Lamas, Daniela Lamas (Narrator), Susannah Jones (Narrator)

Publication Date: March 26, 2018

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (3/27/2018)

Description

For readers of Atul Gawande and Jerome Groopman, a book of beautifully crafted stories about what life is like for patients kept alive by modern medical technology.

Modern medicine is a world that glimmers with new technology and cutting-edge research. To the public eye, medical stories often begin with sirens and flashing lights and culminate in survival or death. But these are only the most visible narratives. As a critical care doctor treating people at their sickest, Daniela Lamas is fascinated by a different story: what comes after for those whose lives are extended by days, months, or years as a result of our treatments and technologies?

You Can Stop Humming Now, Lamas explores the complex answers to this question through intimate accounts of patients and their families. A grandfather whose failing heart has been replaced by a battery-operated pump; a salesman who found himself a kidney donor on social media; a college student who survived a near fatal overdose and returned home, alive but not the same; and a young woman navigating an adulthood she never thought she'd live to see -- these moving narratives paint a detailed picture of the fragile border between sickness and health.

Riveting, gorgeously told, and deeply personal, You Can Stop Humming Now is a compassionate, uncompromising look at the choices and realities that many of us, and our families, may one day face.

"Gripping, soaring, inspiring."-Atul Gawande, author of Being Mortal


About the Author

Daniela Lamas, M.D. is a Pulmonary and Critical Care Fellow at Harvard, where she works at Ariadne Labs, an innovation laboratory headed by Dr. Atul Gawande. She earned her M.D. at Columbia College of Physicians & Surgeons, where she completed her internship and residency, and she served as an editorial fellow at the New England Journal of Medicine. Her writing has been published in The New Yorker, The Boston Globe, The Atlantic, and the New York Times.