Anna, Banana, and the Friendship Split (Hardcover)

By Anica Mrose Rissi, Meg Park (Illustrator)

Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 9781481416054, 128pp.

Publication Date: May 5, 2015

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Meet Anna and her beloved wiener dog, Banana, in this start to a charming illustrated chapter book series about the joys and challenges of elementary school friendships.

Anna has been best friends with Sadie for as long as she can remember. So Anna is utterly perplexed when, on Anna’s birthday, Sadie unceremoniously stakes claim to Anna’s new pony necklace, then suddenly stops speaking to Anna altogether. Did Anna do something wrong? With a little help from her wiener dog, Banana, as well as some sage advice from her family, Anna makes some important discoveries about what it means to stand up for herself, and how to be a true friend.


About the Author

Anica Mrose Rissi grew up on an island off the coast of Maine, where she read a lot of books and loved a lot of pets. She now tells and collects stories, makes up songs on her violin, and eats lots of cheese with her friends in Princeton, New Jersey, where she lives with her dog, Arugula. Find out more at AnicaRissi.com and follow @AnicaRissi on Twitter.

Meg Park is a character designer and illustrator for clients including Disney, Nickelodeon, and Paramount Pictures. Meg lives in Scotland with her two cats Louie and Boo. She loves drawing, painting, and telling stories through her artwork.


Praise For Anna, Banana, and the Friendship Split

“Fast-paced, fun, and funny. Girls will lap up this easy-breezy friendship story like a banana split—and the happy ending is the cherry on top!”
— Megan McDonald, bestselling author of the Judy Moody series

"I've drawn rainbow sparkle hearts on every page of this book, because I love it that much. A perfect friendship story!"
— Lauren Myracle, bestselling author of the Winnie Years series

“There’s a surprising amount of tension as Anna struggles with her bafflement, narrated in an emotionally sensitive first-person voice. . . . A realistic story for sensitive kids.”

Fans of Sara Pennypacker’s Clementine, Hilary McKay’s Lulu, and Anna Branford’s Violet Mackerel will enjoy meeting Anna and her friends.

"[T]he familiar trials of middle-grade friendship are likely to appeal to same-aged readers looking for a new chapter-book heroine."

"Well-rounded characters, sweet spot art, and a relatable plot that avoids didacticism make this an entertaining chapter book."
— The Horn Book