Bounders (Hardcover)

By Monica Tesler

Aladdin, 9781481445931, 384pp.

Publication Date: January 5, 2016

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (12/13/2016)

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

In the tradition of Michael Vey and The Unwanteds, twelve-year-old Jasper and his friends are forced to go up against an alien society in this first book in a brand-new adventure series!

Bounders have always known they were different, but they never suspected they were the key to saving Earth.

Thirteen years ago, Earth Force—a space-military agency—discovered a connection between brain structure and space travel. Now they’ve brought together a team of cadets, called Bounders, to be trained as elite astronauts able to pilot ships that can travel across the galaxy in an instant.

Jasper Adams can’t wait to join the first class of Bounders, but when he arrives at the space station, nothing is as it seems. Security is sky-high, and Jasper and his new friends soon realize that Earth Force has been keeping secrets—one of the biggest being a powerful, highly-classified technology that allows the Bounders to teleport through space without a ship. Only Bounders can use this tech, which leads Jasper to a sinister truth—humanity is facing a threat greater than any they’ve ever known, and Bounders are the ones standing between their planet and destruction.

Will Jasper and his friends rebel against Earth Force for hiding the truth, or fulfill their duty and fight for their planet? The fate of Earth may rest on their choice.


About the Author

Monica Tesler lives south of Boston with her husband and two boys. She earned her undergraduate and law degrees from the University of Michigan. She writes on the commuter boat, in coffee shops, and at her kitchen table. She tries to meditate every day but often ends up fantasizing about space, time travel, or strange lands, both real and imagined.


Praise For Bounders

"Bounders is a joyful space adventure full of humor, friendships and action. This is a great sci-fi adventure for boys and girls alike. I had so much fun reading it!"
— S.J. Kincaid, author of the INSIGNIA series

"A richly detailed, highly imaginative world and a cast of clever, creative kids.Readers will be eager to bound into the next book."
— Shannon Messenger, author of the Keeper of the Lost Cities series

“Fans of Ender’s Game will feel right at home in this fast-paced debut…I read it in a day, unable to put it down, and look forward to more from this promising new author!”
— Wesley King, author of The Incredible Space Raiders from Space! and OCDaniel

"A sci-fi space adventure sure to please middle-graders looking to get hooked on a new series."
— Booklist

"While the story raises its share of ethical questions, it shines in its depiction of neurodiverse characters, especially Cole and Mira, as Tesler uses familiar SF conventions to show that kids with ADD, autism, or other conditions can be as heroic as anyone else."
— Publishers Weekly