Under the Bottle Bridge (Hardcover)

By Jessica Lawson

Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 9781481448420, 352pp.

Publication Date: September 5, 2017

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

In the tradition of Rooftoppers and Three Times Lucky, critically acclaimed author Jessica Lawson returns with her fourth whimsical, lyrical, and heartfelt middle grade novel about a girl who’s desperately trying to keep her life together, when everything seems to be falling apart.

In the weeks leading up to Gilbreth, New York’s annual AutumnFest, twelve-year-old woodcraft legacy Minna Treat is struggling with looming deadlines, an uncle trying to hide Very Bad News, and a secret personal quest. When she discovers mysterious bottle messages under one of the village’s 300-year-old bridges, she can’t help but wonder who’s leaving them, what they mean, and, most importantly…could the messages be for her?

Along with best friend Crash and a mystery-loving newcomer full of suspicious theories, Minna is determined to discover whether the bottles are miraculously leading her toward long-lost answers she’s been looking for, or drawing her into a disaster of historic proportions.


About the Author

Jessica Lawson is the author of The Actual & Truthful Adventures of Becky Thatcher, a book that Publishers Weekly called “a delightfully clever debut” in a starred review, and Nooks & Crannies, a Junior Library Guild Selection and recipient of three starred reviews. She is also the author of Waiting for Augusta and Under the Bottle Bridge. You can visit her at JessicaLawsonBooks.com.


Praise For Under the Bottle Bridge

"Lawson creates an engaging cast of characters . . . not every mystery is resolved, but readers will likely still be pleased with the outcome."
— Kirkus Reviews

"Beautifully written, with vivid characters, this exploration of family and friendship shines from the first page...Give to fans of Holly Goldberg Sloan’s Counting By 7s."

"Hand this to fans of Turnage’s Three Times Lucky."

"Lawson lovingly creates an unusual community, peoples it with distinctive characters, and intertwines their stories into an involving narrative."

"Beautifully written, with vivid characters, this exploration of family and friendship shines from the first page."