Don't You Trust Me? (Hardcover)

By Patrice Kindl

Atheneum Books for Young Readers, 9781481459105, 256pp.

Publication Date: August 30, 2016

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (9/12/2017)

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

A teenage girl switches identities with a stranger and pulls off a long-term scam in this smart, sarcastic thriller perfect for fans of Ally Carter.

Don’t you trust me? I mean, look at me. Blond, blue-eyed, the very image of innocence. Pretty enough, if you care about that kind of thing. I don’t.

But would a normal person switch identities with some wet mess of a girl at the airport, just to get her to stop bawling about being separated from her loser boyfriend and sent to live with some distant relatives? Nope, she wouldn’t. Yet I did. I’m not as normal as you think. And you’ll just have to trust me on that.


About the Author

Patrice Kindl is the author of the acclaimed novels Owl in Love, Goose Chase, Keeping the Castle, A School for Brides, and several others. She lives with her husband and a variety of animals in upstate New York. Visit her at PatriceKindl.com.


Praise For Don't You Trust Me?

“A chilling reminder that sociopaths aren’t always coldblooded serial killers; sometimes they’re the girl next door.”

“Readers . . . will be swept up in a narrative driven by the high-stakes game Morgan is playing, wondering whether she will be smarter than she is greedy and if she’ll get away while she still can.”

“Distinctive and chilling.”

“[Readers] will be on edge waiting for Morgan to be caught in her own game.”

“Artistic works with sociopaths at their center are hard to pull off, but here it works—think Barbara Stanwyck in Double Indemnity. Kindl nails Morgan’s voice as well as her curiosity about how normal people think and react . . . it’s easy to be pulled in, just how Morgan likes it.”

* "The book is deliciously uneasy in its teetering between comedy and implacable crime story…This is a wild and enjoyable ride for those who wouldn’t want to meet Morgan in real life but can revel in her fictional doings.”