The Spark (Hardcover)

By David Drake

Baen, 9781481482769, 432pp.

Publication Date: November 7, 2017

Advertisement

Description

NEW STANDALONE NOVEL BY SF MASTER DAVID DRAKE. In a violent world in which civilization has fallen and monsters roam, a young hero will rise.

In the time of the Ancients the universe was united--but that was so far in the past that not even memory remains, only the broken artifacts that a few Makers can reshape into their original uses. What survives is shattered into enclaves--some tiny, some ruined, some wild.

Into the gaps between settlements, and onto the Road that connects all human reality and the reality that is not human and may never have been human, have crept monsters. Some creatures are men, twisted into inhuman evil; some of them are alien to Mankind--

And there are things which are hostile to all life, things which will raven and kill until they are stopped.

A Leader has arisen, welding the scattered human settlements together in peace and safety and smashing the enemies of order with an iron fist. In his capital, Dun Add, the Leader provides law and justice. In the universe beyond, his Champions advance--and enforce--the return of civilization.

Pal, a youth from the sticks, has come to Dun Add to become a Champion. Pal is a bit of a Maker, and in his rural home he's been able to think of himself as a warrior because he can wield the weapons of the Ancient civilization.

Pal has no idea of what he's really getting into in Dun Add. On the other hand, the Leader and Dun Add have no real idea of what might be inside this hayseed with high hopes.

THE SPARK: A story of hope and violence and courage. And especially, a story of determination.

About David Drake:

"Drake deftly weaves a web of political machinations and intrigue that vividly depicts the costs of war. Fans of Patrick O'Brian's Maturin and Aubrey novels will enjoy this intricate, rousing space opera." --Publishers Weekly

" R]ousing old-fashioned space opera."--Publishers Weekly

"The fun is in the telling, and Mr. Drake has a strong voice. I want more "--Philadelphia Weekly Press

" S]pace opera is alive and well. This series is getting better as the author goes along...character development combined with first-rate action and memorable world designs."--SFReader.com

" P]rose as cold and hard as the metal alloy of a tank...rivals Crane and Remarque..."--Chicago Sun-Times

"Drake couldn't write a bad action scene at gunpoint."--Booklist


About the Author

David Drake was attending Duke University Law School when he was drafted. He served the next two years in the Army, spending 1970 as an enlisted interrogator with the 11th Armored Cavalry in Vietnam and Cambodia. Upon return he completed his law degree at Duke and was for eight years Assistant Town Attorney for Chapel Hill, North Carolina. He has been a full-time freelance writer since 1981. His books include the genre-defining and bestselling Hammer's Slammers series, the nationally bestselling RCN series including In the Stormy Red Sky, The Road of Danger, The Sea without a Shore, and Death's Bright Day.
Advertisement