Skip to main content
Cover for Summer of Sloane

Summer of Sloane

Erin L. Schneider

Paperback

List Price: 9.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (5/3/2016)

Description

Sloane's summer starts with a betrayal--can it end with discovering new love and healing old wounds? This heartfelt, hopeful, page-turning novel is perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen.

Warm Hawaiian sun. Lazy beach days. Flirty texts with her boyfriend back in Seattle. These are the things seventeen-year-old Sloane McIntyre pictured when she imagined the summer she'd be spending at her mom's home in Hawaii with her twin brother, Penn. Instead, after learning an unthinkable secret about her boyfriend, Tyler, and best friend, Mick, all she has is a fractured hand and a completely shattered heart.

Once she arrives in Honolulu, though, Sloane hopes that Hawaii might just be the escape she needs. With beach bonfires, old friends, exotic food, and the wonders of a waterproof cast, there's no reason Sloane shouldn't enjoy her summer. And when she meets Finn McAllister, the handsome son of a hotel magnate who doesn't always play by the rules, she knows he's the perfect distraction from everything that's so wrong back home.

But it turns out a measly ocean isn't nearly enough to stop all the emails, texts, and voicemails from her ex-boyfriend and ex-best friend, desperate to explain away their betrayal. And as her casual connection with Finn grows deeper, Sloane's carefree summer might not be as easy to come by as she'd hoped. Weighing years of history with Mick and Tyler against their deception, and the delicate possibility of new love, Sloane must decide when to forgive, and when to live for herself.  Praise for Summer of Sloane "Through Sloane and everyone who orbits her, Schneider examines betrayal from many angles, as well as the myriad ways that people hurt one another and how one teenager moves forward to see new romance and hope in her future." -Publishers Weekly
  "What distinguishes this romance from a standard-issue beach read is its likable main character. . . Schneider's debut asks readers to consider how and where to draw the line between forgivable and inexcusable transgressions in those we love." -Kirkus Reviews

"Sloane is a likable, well-rounded character. . . An enjoyable beach read for fans of teen romance."
-School Library Journal


Praise For Summer of Sloane

"Through Sloane and everyone who orbits her, Schneider examines betrayal from many angles, as well as the myriad ways that people hurt one another and how one teenager moves forward to see new romance and hope in her future."—Publishers Weekly

"What distinguishes this romance from a standard-issue beach read is its likable main character.... Schneider's debut asks readers to consider how and where to draw the line between forgivable and inexcusable transgressions in those we love."—Kirkus Reviews

"Sloane is a likable, well-rounded character.... An enjoyable beach read for fans of teen romance."
 —School Library Journal

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, 9781484726709, 304pp.

Publication Date: May 2, 2017



About the Author

Erin L. Schneider is a native of the Pacific Northwest, attended college in Honolulu, and--although Hawaiian--should never be allowed on a surfboard. With more than twenty years in corporate merchandising, she's now a full-time author living in Seattle with her husband, Neal their little boy, Kellan a rowdy German shepherd named Ronin and two crazy cats, Ono and Poke. She's a member of both the Pacific Northwest Writers Association and SCBWI, and is also co-founder of the YA Buccaneers (yabuccaneers.com). Summer of Sloane is her debut novel. Visit Erin online at erinlschneider.com or on Twitter @ErinLSchneider1.