Partners in Slime (Quinny & Hopper Book 2) (Hardcover)

By Adriana Brad Schanen, Charles Santoso (Illustrator)

Disney-Hyperion, 9781484775066, 272pp.

Publication Date: October 25, 2016

List Price: 15.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Quinny and Hopper are unstoppable. Together, they tamed a killer chicken, broke the Third Grade Rules, and proved to everyone that they could be best friends.

But Hopper has doubts that anyone--even Quinny--can save him from his impending doom: a surgery removing tonsils he is really, really not ready to part ways with.

To help Hopper overcome his tonsillectomy fears, Quinny decides to reveals his birthday surprise early: a trip to a museum where they'll get to see a real brain up close and personal. Hopper needs something to live for.

But Quinny is torn when her sometimes-friend, sometimes-enemy, Victoria Porridge, invites her to the most amazing party ever on the exact same day.

Quinny and Hopper are back in this hilarious and heartfelt sequel about friendship, changes, and staying true to yourself.



About the Author

Adriana Brad Schanen lives in Montclair, NJ with her husband and two very, very, extra-very lively daughters. Quinny & Hopper is her first children's book. Visit her online at adrianabradschanen.com.


Charles Santoso loves drawing little things in his little journal and dreams about funny, wondrous stories. Some books he's illustrated include I Don't Like Koala by Sean Ferrell, Ida, Always by Caron Levis, Penguin & Tiny Shrimp Don't Do Bedtime by Cate Berry and the New York Times bestseller Wishtree by Katherine Applegate. He is currently working in sunny Singapore. You can visit him at charlessantoso.com.


Praise For Partners in Slime (Quinny & Hopper Book 2)

PRAISE FOR QUINNY AND HOPPER

"This is a delightful, amusing chapter book with lively, relatable characters... Fans of Sara Pennypacker's Clementine and Judy Blume's SuperFudge will flock to this entertaining chapter book."—School Library Journal

"With its balanced mix of humor, emotions, and well-crafted characters living in imperfect but loving families, the Quinny and Hopper series has the qualities of an enduring favorite."—Booklist

PRAISE FOR QUINNY AND HOPPER

"The book is engrossing, and the likable duo change and grow in believable ways. Quinny and Hopper, who take turns narrating, have distinct, well-differentiated voices, and Schanen makes good use of her individuated secondary characters as well. Swearingen's black-and-white drawings both capture the spirit of the characters and enhance the narrative. This endearing story about true friendship should appeal equally to boys and girls."
Kirkus Reviews

PRAISE FOR QUINNY AND HOPPER

"First-time children's author Schanen skillfully captures Quinny's zest and Hopper's timidity through their interactions and alternating narratives, and Swearingen's smudgy spot illustrations amplify the lively tone. The story's best moments showcase the spirited friendship between Quinny and Hopper, but there's much to appreciate throughout this exuberant debut."—Publishers Weekly

"Characters are well-rounded and their problems are fully believable. A few useful life lessons on friendship and the value of being true to oneself while being flexible enough to accept others' foibles are seamlessly incorporated. An excellent, emotionally rich choice for readers ready for a sizable chapter book."—Kirkus Reviews

PRAISE FOR QUINNY AND HOPPER

"Judy Moody fans will have a ball with Quinny and Hopper, and elementary teachers or librarians looking for a spirited readaloud selection will want to pick up a copy as well."—BCCB

PRAISE FOR QUINNY AND HOPPER

"Quinny and Hopper narrate alternating chapters, each with a strong voice and spot-on language and emotions. Funny, honest, and fast paced, this book about friendship should have wide appeal."—Booklist