Skip to main content
Cover for The Last Summer of the Garrett Girls

The Last Summer of the Garrett Girls

Jessica Spotswood

Paperback

List Price: 10.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

One summer will challenge everything the Garrett sisters thought they knew about themselves—and each other in this captivating new novel by Jessica Spotswood.

As the oldest, Des shoulders a lot of responsibility for her family and their independent bookstore. Except it's hard to dream big when she's so busy taking care of everyone else.

Vi has a crush on the girl next door. It makes her happy and nervous, but Cece has a boyfriend...so it's not like her feelings could ever be reciprocated, right?

Kat lands the lead in the community theater's summer play, but the drama spills offstage when her ex and his new girlfriend are cast too. Can she get revenge by staging a new romance of her own?

Bea and her boyfriend are heading off to college together in the fall, just like they planned when they started dating. But Bea isn't sure she wants the same things as when she was thirteen…

Told through four alternating points of view, readers will laugh, cry, and fall in love alongside the Garrett girls.



Praise For The Last Summer of the Garrett Girls

"Forward thinkers will embrace the book’s strong feminist message, while romantics will relish the all’s-well-that-ends-well conclusion." — Publishers Weekly

"Narrative focus shifts between chapters to highlight the perspectives of individual sisters, with notes of Little Women and a dash of Gilmore Girls." — Kirkus Reviews

"Highly readable...Little Women meets Gilmore Girls by way of Sarah Dessen." — The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

"Told in alternating perspectives, this is a character study steeped in summer nostalgia and small-town life. Guaranteed to tug the heartstrings of teens familiar with crossroads." — Booklist

"A story of sisterhood, friendship, love, heartbreak and obligation – perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen." — CultureFly

"An engaging, richly nuanced and heart-warming story of four sisters and the summer they find themselves and each other." — Huntley Fiztpatrick, author of The Boy Most Likely and My Life Next Door

Sourcebooks Fire, 9781492622192, 368pp.

Publication Date: June 5, 2018



About the Author

Jessica Spotswood lives in Washington, DC, with her husband and works as a children’s library associate. Her novel Wild Swans was chosen for ALA’s 2017 Amelia Bloomer List. Visit jessicaspotswood.com.