Skip to main content
Cover for The Night Parade

The Night Parade

Kathryn Tanquary

Hardcover

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (1/1/2017)

Description

For fans of Coraline and Spirited Away comes a diverse fantasy debut steeped in Japanese mythology about a girl and a deadly curse.

The last thing thirteen-year-old Saki Yamamoto wants to do for her summer vacation is trade in exciting Tokyo for the antiquated rituals and bad cell reception of her grandmother's village. Preparing for the Obon ceremony is boring. Then the local kids take interest in Saki and she sees an opportunity for some fun, even if it means disrespecting her family's ancestral shrine on a malicious dare.

But as Saki rings the sacred bell, the darkness shifts. A death curse has been invoked...and Saki has three nights to undo it. With the help of three spirit guides and some unexpected friends, Saki must prove her worth--or say goodbye to the world of the living forever...

The Night Parade is perfect for: Fantasy fans and kids 11 to 14 who love Spirited AwayKids and teens looking for creepy, suspenseful storiesAdults looking for diverse books for kidsMythology fans and kids 12 to 14

A 2017 Bank Street Best Children's Book of the Year
A Kids' Indie Next Pick
A Junior Library Guild Selection
A 2017 Freeman Book Award Winner

Sourcebooks Young Readers, 9781492623243, 336pp.

Publication Date: January 5, 2016