Skip to main content
Cover for Carnegie's Maid

Carnegie's Maid

A Novel

Marie Benedict

Hardcover

List Price: 25.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (1/15/2018)
Paperback (10/2/2018)
Paperback, Large Print (4/3/2019)
Library Binding, Large Print (2/7/2018)
CD-Audio (1/16/2018)

Description

The USA Today Bestseller

From the bestselling author of The Only Woman in the Room comes a mesmerizing tale of historical fiction that asks what kind of woman could have inspired an American dynasty.

Clara Kelley is not who they think she is. She's not the experienced Irish maid who was hired to work in one of Pittsburgh's grandest households. She's a poor farmer's daughter with nowhere to go and nothing in her pockets. But the woman who shares her name has vanished, and assuming her identity just might get Clara some money to send back home.

Clara must rely on resolve as strong as the steel Pittsburgh is becoming famous for and an uncanny understanding of business, attributes that quickly gain her Carnegie's trust. But she still can't let her guard down, not even when Andrew becomes something more than an employer. Revealing her past might ruin her future—and her family's.

With captivating insight and heart, Carnegie's Maid is a book of fascinating 19th century historical fiction. Discover the story of one brilliant woman who may have spurred Andrew Carnegie's transformation from ruthless industrialist to the world's first true philanthropist.

Also by Marie Benedict:

The Other Einstein

The Only Woman in the Room

Lady Clementine



Praise For Carnegie's Maid: A Novel

"With its well-drawn characters, good pacing, and excellent sense of time and place, this volume should charm lovers of historicals, romance, and the Civil War period. Neither saccharine nor overly dramatized, it's a very satisfying read. " — Library Journal

"Feels like Downton Abbey in the United States...Benedict demonstrates the relevance of history to the present day in this impeccably researched novel of the early immigrant experience. Deeply human, and brimming with complex, vulnerable characters, CARNEGIE'S MAID shows the power of ambition tempered by altruism, and the true realization of the American Dream." — Erika Robuck, national bestselling author of Hemingway's Girl

"In CARNEGIE'S MAID, Marie Benedict skillfully introduces us to Clara, a young woman who immigrates to American in the 1860s and unexpectedly becomes the maid to Andrew Carnegie's mother. Clara becomes close to Andrew Carnegie and helps to make him America's first philanthropist. Downton Abbey fans should flock to this charming tale of fateful turns and unexpected romance, and the often unsung role of women in history." — Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Orphan's Tale

"I loved everything about this book... A little drama, a little romance, and a well-told story... Highly recommended." — Sherry Fritzsche, Bank Square Books (Mystic, CT)

"A special addition to the Downton Abbey canon...an absorbing exploration of the influence one plucky young woman might have had on this pioneering philanthropist. " — Toronto Star

"[an] excellent historical novel." — Publishers Weekly

"Fascinating story..." — Bustle

"...engaging. The chaste romance will draw readers of inspirational fiction, while the novel is constructed to appeal to those seeking a tale with an upstairs-downstairs dynamic and all-but-invisible female characters who are either the impetus for or the actual originators of great men's great ideas. For Fans of Liz Trenow, Erika Robuck, and Nancy Horan. " — Booklist

"Marie Benedict has penned a sensational novel that turns the conventional Cinderella story into an all-American triumph. Young Clara Kelley steps off the boat from Ireland into Andrew Carnegie's affluent world, where invention can transform men and women into whatever they dare to dream." — Sarah McCoy, New York Times and international bestselling author of The Mapmaker's Children and The Baker's Daughter

Sourcebooks Landmark, 9781492646617, 288pp.

Publication Date: January 16, 2018



About the Author

Marie Benedictis a lawyer with more than ten years' experience as a litigator at two of the country's premier law firms and for Fortune 500 companies. She is a magna cum laude graduate of Boston College with a focus in history and art history and a cum laude graduate of the Boston University School of Law. Marie, the author of The Other Einstein, Carnegie's Maid, The Only Woman in the Room, and Lady Clementine, views herself as an archaeologist of sorts, telling the untold stories of women. She lives in Pittsburgh with her family.