Skip to main content
Cover for I'm Not Dying with You Tonight

I'm Not Dying with You Tonight

Kimberly Jones, Gilly Segal

Hardcover

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (8/26/2019)
Paperback (9/7/2021)

Description

The New York Times Bestseller!

"An absolute page turner, I'm Not Dying with You Tonight is a compelling and powerful novel that is sure to make an impact. " —Angie Thomas, New York Times bestselling author of The Hate U Give

An NAACP Image Award Nominee, I'm Not Dying with You Tonight follows two teen girls—one black, one white—who have to confront their own assumptions about racial inequality as they rely on each other to get through the violent race riot that has set their city on fire with civil unrest.

Lena has her killer style, her awesome boyfriend, and a plan. She knows she's going to make it big. Campbell, on the other hand, is just trying to keep her head down and get through the year at her new school.

When both girls attend the Friday-night football game, what neither expects is for everything to descend into sudden mass chaos. Chaos born from violence and hate. Chaos that unexpectedly throws them together.

They aren't friends. They hardly understand the other's point of view. But none of that matters when the city is up in flames, and they only have each other to rely on if they're going to survive the night.

This book is perfect for:

  • Sparking conversations about prejudice and the racial tension that exists in America
  • Parents and educators looking for multicultural and African American books for teens
  • Fans of Nic Stone, Angie Thomas, and Jason Reynolds

Additional Praise for I'm Not Dying with You Tonight:

"A vital addition to the YA race relations canon." —Nic Stone, New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin

"An astounding achievement. This novel is an incendiary experience, one that does not shy away from difficult questions about privilege and violence. But Jones and Segal don't hold our hands to provide us easy answers; this is a book meant to be devoured in a single sitting and discussed for years to come." —Mark Oshiro, author of Anger is a Gift

"I'm Not Dying With You Tonight is a powerful examination of privilege, and how friends are often found in surprising places. Jones and Segal have penned a page-turning debut, as timely as it is addictive." —David Arnold, New York Times bestselling author of Mosquitoland and Kids of Appetite



Praise For I'm Not Dying with You Tonight

"This YA novel is important reading for both teenagers and adults alike." — HelloGiggles

"This co-written novel delivers an explosive story, exploring complicated issues as two girls try to survive a horrifying evening. It's not to be missed." — Paste Magazine

"This is a book that is sure to make young readers think, highlighting the importance of understanding different perspectives as its chapters alternate between Lena's and Campbell's points of view. An eye-opening read that will be useful for starting conversations in group settings." — Booklist

"Each chapter keeps the pages turning until a satisfying, but unpredictable, ending. Highly recommended...Librarians will want to ­purchase this ­relevant and discussion-­worthy YA ­novel." — School Library Journal

"A powerful examination of society and perspective that shows the dangers in failing to challenge our biases. A must-read." — Lamar Giles, critically acclaimed author of Spin

"An absolute page turner, I'm Not Dying with You Tonight is a compelling and powerful novel that is sure to make an impact." — Angie Thomas, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Hate U Give

"A vital addition to the YA race relations canon." — Nic Stone, New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin

"An astounding achievement. This novel is an incendiary experience, one that does not shy away from difficult questions about privilege and violence. But Jones and Segal don't hold our hands to provide us easy answers; this is a book meant to be devoured in a single sitting and discussed for years to come." — Mark Oshiro, Schneider Family Book Award Winner – 2019 for Anger is a Gift

"I'm Not Dying With You Tonight is a powerful examination of privilege, and how friends are often found in surprising places. Jones and Segal have penned a page-turning debut, as timely as it is addictive." — David Arnold, New York Times bestselling author of Mosquitoland and Kids of Appetite

"Captivating and poignant, I'm Not Dying With You Tonight will stay with you long after you turn the last page." — Marieke Nijkamp, #1 New York Times bestselling author of This is Where It Ends

Sourcebooks Fire, 9781492678892, 272pp.

Publication Date: August 6, 2019



About the Author

KIMBERLY JONES is the New York Times bestselling author of the NAACP Image Award nominated novel I'm Not Dying with You Tonight. She is the former manager of the bookstore Little Shop of Stories and currently works in the entertainment industry. She lives in Atlanta, Georgia.

GILLY SEGAL is the New York Times bestselling author of the NAACP Image Award nominated novel I'm Not Dying with You Tonight. She grew up in Florida, attended Hebrew University and Emory School of Law. She is currently the chief legal officer of an advertising agency. Visit gillysegal.com.


Conversation Starters from ReadingGroupChoices.com

1. Do you feel that either or both Lena and Campbell begin with a “me vs. you” or “us vs. them” mentality? If so, does that change over the course of the night and why or why not? Do Lena and Campbell ever become an “us”?


2. How do the girls perceive each other upon first meeting? Do they idealize or stereotype one another?


3. What is the racial epithet that starts the fight at the high school? How do each of the characters perceive it?


4. Would the events of this night have transpired the same way if one or both of these characters had been male or male presenting?  What might have changed?


5. What do you make of the scene when Lena and Campbell come upon the parking lot full of police? How might their life experiences leading up to that moment create their attitude?


6. How does Lena’s familiarity with the neighborhood drive her decisions when she realizes it is not safe to remain at school during the fight? How does she use her instincts to judge decisions?


7. How does Lena feel about the rivalry between her high school, McPherson, and Jonesville High? What does she think about the racist incidents that occur in the lead up to the football game?


8. How would you characterize Campbell’s relationship with her mother and her father? How does that impact her actions during the night of the riot?


9. Does Campbell’s attitude toward the police evolve over the course of the novel? If so, how?


10. Lena says Campbell hasn’t tried to get to know the neighborhood and walks around like she doesn’t live there. What do you think she means by that? What does Campbell realize about herself, if anything, in that conversation?


11. What do you think happens the day after the riot to Campbell and Lena? To the school? To the city?


12. If you could meet one of these characters in real life, what would you say to them?