Firefly Cove (Miramar Bay #2) (Hardcover)

By Davis Bunn

Kensington, 9781496708328, 304pp.

Publication Date: December 26, 2017

List Price: 21.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

A Delilah Book Club Selection
From the internationally bestselling author of Miramar Bay comes a deeply emotional novel that explores the challenges of living, the joys of loving, and the bittersweet act of letting go . . .

 
I have this, Lucius thought to himself. I have today.
 
Since the age of seven, Lucius Quarterfield has known he is dying. Doctors told him he had a “bad ticker” and might not live to see his next birthday. But somehow, the frail yet determined boy managed to hang on and surprise everyone. The bullies who teased him. The family who neglected him. The professionals who offered little hope for a normal life. To their surprise, Lucius not only survived to adulthood, he thrived, turning a small car dealership into a successful chain. But now, at twenty-eight, his time is finally running out. So he’s returning to the one place he ever felt happy, near the only woman he ever truly wanted—the California seaside town of Miramar Bay…
 
Was it so much to ask, a healthy tomorrow shared with a woman he loved?
 
Jessica was the only daughter of the only dentist in town. An ardent reader and fan of Jane Austen, she was able to follow in her father’s footsteps, as he desired. But Jessica preferred the simple things in life—a trait that captivated Lucius from the moment he arrived in town on business. Her carefree approach to living and playful, quick wit were a breath of fresh air to a man who devoted all his time to work. They were complete opposites and perfect complements. Soon they were falling head over heels—until Lucius pulled away, to spare her the pain of his inevitable fate. Now, after all this time, he won’t put her through that again. His days are numbered. And whatever happens—with Jessica or anyone sharing his journey—he’s going to make each moment count. Because he knows that everything is about to change . . . he just can’t know exactly how. 
 
Warm-hearted, wise, and wonderfully moving, Firefly Cove is a powerful novel of first love and second chances that will live in readers’ hearts for years to come.


About the Author

Davis Bunn is an internationally bestselling author with more than seven million books in print in twenty languages. Originally from North Carolina, he draws on his international experience to craft award-winning novels. Davis has been honored with four Christy Awards for excellence in fiction, among other accolades. He serves as Writer in Residence at Regent’s Park College, Oxford University. Davis and his wife, Isabella, divide their time between the English countryside and the coast of Florida. Visit Davis at www.davisbunn.com.


Praise For Firefly Cove (Miramar Bay #2)

“Fans of Kate Morton and Liane Moriarty will enjoy how this warm and well-crafted novel explores the limits of human understanding, acceptance, and imagination.” —Booklist

"Warm-hearted, wise, and wonderfully moving, Firefly Cove is a powerful novel of first love and second chances that will live in readers’ hearts for years to come." Family Fiction

“A novel rich with rediscovery…In Bunn’s emotional novel, readers will be particularly swept away by Lucius’s and Jessica’s love story.” —Publishers Weekly

“This is ultimately a bittersweet story about the importance of love and friendship. Readers of Nicholas Sparks will find it appealing.” —Library Journal

“Delightful and magical….This novel is heartwarming from start to finish. Lucius is a wonderful character; his personality shines on each page and begs readers to get to know him better….This tale is feel-good all the way through; a story of not giving up and of getting a second chance at love…and life.” —RT Book Reviews

 “The emotional power of Firefly Cove demonstrates Davis Bunn’s extraordinary gift of story-telling and solidifies his place as one of the great writers of a generation.  Somehow, Davis has managed to pen an emotionally-layered love story with the pacing of a thriller writer.  The result is a beautiful and tender story of sacrifice and romance, where the selfless purity and power of love heals two long broken hearts.  I enjoyed it immensely.” —Charles Martin, New York Times bestselling author of The Mountain Between Us

“Firefly Cove was an absolute delight, I loved every moment!  Bunn’s achingly beautiful love story spans two generations in the most unexpected and mysterious way.  His rich details, relatable characters, and firm sense of time and place all captivated me – as did his softly posed question, What will you do with the gift of your next breath?” —Katherine Reay, bestselling author of A Portrait of Emily Price

“A breathtaking novel.  I found myself completely immersed in Bunn’s remarkable storytelling.” —Brian Bird, Executive Producer, “Touched By An Angel”