Grave Expectations (A Dickens of a Crime #2) (Hardcover)

By Heather Redmond

Kensington, 9781496717160, 320pp.

Publication Date: July 30, 2019

Other Editions of This Title:
Compact Disc (7/30/2019)
MP3 CD (7/30/2019)

List Price: 26.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

In this clever reimagining of Charles Dickens’s life, he and fiancée Kate Hogarth must solve the murder of a spinster wearing a wedding gown . . .
 
London, June 1835: In the interest of being a good neighbor, Charles checks in on Miss Haverstock, the elderly spinster who resides in the flat above his. But as the young journalist and his fiancée Kate ascend the stairs, they are assaulted by the unmistakable smell of death. Upon entering the woman’s quarters, they find her decomposing corpse propped up, adorned in a faded gown that looks like it could have been her wedding dress, had she been married. A murderer has set the stage. But to what purpose?
 
As news of an escaped convict from Coldbath Fields reaches the couple, Charles reasonably expects the prisoner, Ned Blood, may be responsible. But Kate suspects more personal motives, given the time and effort in dressing the victim. When a local blacksmith is found with cut manacles in his shop and arrested, his distraught wife begs Charles and Kate to help. At the inquest, they are surprised to meet Miss Haverstock’s cold and haughty foster daughter, shadowed by her miserably besotted companion. Secrets shrouded by the old woman’s past may hold the answers to this web of mystery. But Charles and Kate will have to risk their lives to unveil the truth . . .


About the Author

Though her last known British ancestor departed London in the 1920s, Heather Redmond is a committed anglophile, Dickens devotee, and lover of all things nineteenth century. She has lived in Illinois, California, and Texas, and now resides in a small town in Washington State with her husband and son. For more information please visit www.heatherredmond.com and twitter.com/heatheraredmond.


Praise For Grave Expectations (A Dickens of a Crime #2)

Grave Expectations is as easy to read as one of Mr. Dickens’ actual novels and as entertaining. As the subtitle reveals, it’s a Dickens of a tale, and readers should be coming back for more.”
The New York Journal of Books on Grave Expectations


“The life of a promising journalist in 19th-century London is complicated, but Redmond's hero is more than up to the challenge in this topsy-turvy take on a British literary classic. Once again, Redmond mixes history, mystery, and a little bit of whimsy.” 
Kirkus Reviews 
on Grave Expectations

“One of the most satisfying mysteries you will read this year.” 

—Suspense Magazine 
on Grave Expectations

“Redmond’s appealing sequel…effectively captures the young Charles’s ebullient energy, the warmth of his circle, and the color of a fast-changing era. Readers will look forward to Charles’s further adventures.”
Publishers Weekly on Grave Expectations

“Atmospheric, absorbing…a worthy read that provides some armchair time travel and is great for fans of Christopher Fowler's Bryant & May series.” 
Booklist
on Grave Expectations


Praise for A Dickens of Crime Mystery series

 
“A complex and highly satisfying mystery. Redmond weaves Dickensian themes—wealth and poverty, love and rejection—seamlessly throughout the story while evoking a Victorian era that feels immediate and alive. Fans of Anne Perry will love this one.”
—Dianne Freeman, author of the Countess of Harleigh Mysteries
 
"Mystery fans and history buffs alike should cheer."
Kirkus STARRED Review
 
“One suspects that Mr. Dickens himself would thoroughly enjoy this literary play on his early life and sleuthing abilities. Great fun to read!”
—Catherine Lloyd, author of the Kurland St. Mary Mysteries
 
“Meticulous attention to historical details and the known elements of Dickens’s life . . . a complex mystery that cunningly explores how Dickens might have been inspired to write the plot of his most well-known book . . . Sharp, incisive, and delightfully twisty. I’m sure I won't be the only reader exclaiming, ‘What the Dickens?!’”
—Anna Lee Huber, bestselling author of the Lady Darby Mysteries
 
A Tale of Two Murders is an all-over twisty read and a Dickens of a good mystery!”
—Julie Mulhern, USA Today bestselling author of The Country Club Murders
 
“With the mystery-weaving skill of Anne Perry and the tone of Dickens, A Tale of Two Murders mixes raw suspense with flirtatious banter in a fast-paced historical mystery that keeps us guessing through a tour of 1830s London.”
—Ransom Stephens, author of The Sensory Deception
 
“For Dickens fans, this charming little puzzler will prove a delight.”
Booklist