Skip to main content
Cover for A Certain Darkness

A Certain Darkness

A Riveting WW1 Historical Mystery (A Verity Kent Mystery #6)

Anna Lee Huber

Paperback

List Price: 16.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Set in Downton Abbey-era post-war England, and featuring indomitable heroine Verity Kent, this action-packed series from Anna Lee Huber, USA Today bestselling author of the Lady Darby Mysteries, is a treat for fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Susan Ella MacNeal. Historical mystery fans will “savor the intricate plotting and captivating details of the era.” (Library Journal).

“WWI buffs will love the in-depth historical detail.” –Publishers Weekly

March 1920: Life has turned unsettlingly quiet for former British Intelligence agent Verity Kent and her husband, Sidney. But even that false calm is about to end. As threats remain, the French authorities soon request Sidney’s help with a suspect who claims to have proof of treason—shortly before she is assassinated. And Verity, too, is called to investigate a mystery . . .

The murder of a Belgian lawyer aboard a train seems at first to be a simple case of revenge. But the victim was connected to British Intelligence, and possessed papers detailing the sinking of a gold-laden German ship during the war.

As Verity and Sidney dig deeper, they discover their cases are intertwined—and a lethal adversary persists. Officially, the Great War may be over, but this is a battle of nerves and wits they cannot afford to lose . . .

Praise for Anna Lee Huber’s Penny for Your Secrets

“A historical mystery to delight fans of Agatha Christie or Daphne du Maurier.” —Bookpage

“Stellar mystery . . . a great read for fans of the series and all who enjoy Downton Abbey-era fiction.” —Booklist


Praise For A Certain Darkness: A Riveting WW1 Historical Mystery (A Verity Kent Mystery #6)

Praise for A Certain Darkness

“Traveling from England to France and Holland, this complex plot turns itself inside out before its conclusion. Besides sumptuous details and atmospheric settings, the relationships among the characters, especially the tenuous renewed intimacy between Verity and her war-traumatized husband, set this series above more standard mysteries. So come for the rich, complex flavor of the bottle of pinot gris in a room swaddled in thick brocade drapes, but stay for Sidney’s wise observation of his wife’s interrogations: “you see to the heart of how they want to be seen, even if it conflicts with who they truly are.”
—The Historical Novel Society

“As Verity and Sidney face danger together, their deepening relationship will please cozy fans. WWI buffs will love the in-depth historical detail.” 
Publishers Weekly

Praise for Anna Lee Huber's Verity Kent Mysteries


“Stellar mystery…a great read for fans of the series and all who enjoy Downton Abbey-era fiction.” 
—Booklist on A Petty Deceit

“A historical mystery to delight fans of Agatha Christie or Daphne du Maurier.” 
—Bookpage on A Petty Deceit

"Readers looking for atmospheric mystery set in the period following the Great War will savor the intricate plotting and captivating details of the era." 
—Library Journal, STARRED REVIEW on Penny For Your Secrets

"Action-packed...Huber offers a well-researched historical and a fascinating look at the lingering aftermath of war." 
—Publishers Weekly on Penny for Your Secrets

"Huber compellingly recalls the devastation wreaked on the minds of the people and the fabric of the countries involved. A thrilling mystery that supplies its gutsy heroine with plenty of angst-ridden romance." 
—Kirkus Reviews on Treacherous is the Night

"[A] splendid sequel...Huber combines intricate puzzles with affecting human drama." 
Publishers Weekly on Treacherous is the Night

"Masterful...Just when you think the plot will zig, it zags. Regardless of how well-versed you may be in the genre, you'll be hard-pressed to predict this climax...Deeply enjoyable...just the thing if you're looking for relatable heroines, meatier drama, and smart characters with rich inner lives." 
Criminal Element on Treacherous is the Night

"Huber is an excellent historical mystery writer, and Verity is her best heroine...Topped off with a gripping mystery, this will not disappoint." 
—Historical Novel Society on Treacherous is the Night

"Engrossing...Evocative historical details complement the well-drawn characters. The intricate plot builds to a surprising conclusion." 
Publishers Weekly on This Side of Murder

Kensington, 9781496728517, 368pp.

Publication Date: August 30, 2022



About the Author

Anna Lee Huber is the Daphne award-winning and USA Today bestselling author of the Lady Darby Mysteries and the Verity Kent Mysteries. She is a summa cum laude graduate of Lipscomb University in Nashville, Tennessee, where she majored in music and minored in psychology. A member of Mystery Writers of America, Sisters in Crime, and International Thriller Writers, she currently resides in Indiana with her family.